The ceremony for granting L'ORÉAL-UNESCO national fellowship "For Women in Science" will take place in Moscow

Printer friendly


On November 26, ten young Russian women scientists will be granted L'ORÉAL-UNESCO national fellowship "For Women in Science Award" in the State Museum of Fine Arts n.a. A.S. Pushkin. The project has been implemented in Russia since 2007 with the participation of the Russian Academy of Sciences and the Commission of the Russian Federation for UNESCO.

Up to now, only 28% scientists are women and only 3% Nobel Prizes in Science have been awarded to women since the prize establishment in 1901.

Despite of that, there are a lot of outstanding women scholars in the world worth telling about to promote the gender equality in science. For 12 years, L’Oréal Russia grants the fellowship to young women scientists to help talented and high-potential scholars specializing in different disciplines to pursue their career in Russia.

In 2018, the holders of Russian L’ORÉAL-UNESCO award "For Women in Science" were:

Yelena Anashkina, Nizhniy Novgorod, the Federal Research Center Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IAP RAS).

Tatyama Gerasimova, Kazan, Arbuzov Institute of Organic and Physical Chemistry of FRC Kazan Scientific Center of RAS.

Yefimenko Anastasiya, Moscow, Institute for Regenerative Medicine of Lomonosov Moscow State University .

Olga Ivanova, Moscow, Kurnakov Institute of General and Inorganic Chemistry of RAS (IGIC RAS).

Yuliya Kalugina, Tomsk, Tomsk State University.

Nataliya Melnikova, Moscow, Engelhardt Institute of Molecular Biology of Russian Academy of Sciences.

Yelizaveta Panfilova, Saratov, Institute of Biochemistry and Physiology of Plants and Microorganisms of RAS (IBPPM RAS).

Anastasiya Penkova, Saint-Petersburg, Saint-Petersburg State University.

Valeriya Rodionova, Kaliningrad, Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University .

Yekaterina Skorb, Saint-Petersburg, St. Petersburg National Research University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics (ITMO University).

In 2018, 287 applications for participation in the contest were received from 42 Russian cities. Holders of the fellowship are selected yearly by reputable jury chaired by Alexey Khokhlov, Vice-President of Russian Academy of Sciences, professor, Head of Chair of Polymer Physics and Crystallophysics of MSU Faculty of Physics, academician, member of the European Academy, laureate of Russian State Prize in Science and Technology.

According to the contest conditions, the applicants shall be women scientists aged under 35 who are candidates of sciences working in Russian research institutes and higher education institutions in the following disciplines: physics, chemistry, medicine, and biology. The award winners are selected based on such criteria as scientific merit of the candidate, practical usefulness and implementability of the project submitted to the jury for consideration as well as the candidate's willingness to pursue the scientific career in Russia.

For the time of existence of the program, 115 young women have been granted the fellowship for the development of their scientific career (including 10 winners in 2018). These young women can change the world and, being recognized, their talent will make them full of determination and help them to reveal fully their potential.

Fellowship holders continue to develop their scientific career achieving new success. For example, Yekaterina Shishatskaya, the fellowship holder in 2009, was declared the laureate of the Prize of the President of the Russian Federation in Science and Innovations for Young Scientists and received the prize from the President's hands under that initiative. In 2017, a similar award was granted to Anna Kudryavtseva.

Russian fellowship holders also find recognition on the global level of the L’ORÉAL-UNESCO "For Women in Science" project: Irina Didenkulova (Nizhny Novgorod State Technical University n.a. R.E. Alekseev) And Anna Kudryavtseva (Engelhardt Institute of Molecular Biology of Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow ) received the "Rising Talent" international fellowship in 2016 and 2018, respectively.