NAME OF BIOSPHERE RESERVE - Smolensk Lakeland

Ecological characteristics: The Reserve is interesting for the landscape and biological diversity which can hardly be found anywhere else in such relatively small territory. The main types of ecosystems are following: unique system of 35 lakes and numerous rivers; bog and flood meadows along local streams with rare species of orchids; large complex of long sandy ridges left by glaciers in the past; mossy wetlands, formed 9000-11000 years ago; old-growth coniferous, spruce and broad-leaved virgin forests with particular composition of flora and fauna. The flora consists of more than 900 species of vascular plants (89 of them are rare for Smolenskaya oblast and for Russia). Among animals it is possible to meet here typical steppe and forest-steppe or taiga species. The bird population is more than 225 species, including 67 rare ones. The water bodies are inhabited by 35 species of fishes and their abundance indicates that this region has a clean water environment. There are archeological sites of Stone, Bronze and Iron ages, remains of the ancient town Verzhavsk near Lake Rzhavets.

Declaration date: 2002

Surface area: Total 156237 ha

Core area: 26261 ha

Buffer zone: 85537 ha

Transition areas: 44438 ha

Administrative division: Smolenskaya oblast

Human activities: Forest cutting, melioration, construction and laying of new communication lines, use of fertilizers, herbicides and pesticides, conversion to arable lands could have destructive impact on the Reserve’s territory. There are incidents of fires and poaching of moose or wild boar, violation of laws in fishing.

Protection classifications: National Park

Contact information: Smolensk Lakeland Biosphere Reserve, 19, Gurevicha St., Przhevalskoe town, Demidovsky District, Smolenskaya Oblast, 216270 Russia. Tel.: + 7 481 47 46636, fax: + 7 481 47 46636, E-mail: dgo@sci.smolensk.ru

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

НАЗВАНИЕ БИОСФЕРНОГО ЗАПОВЕДНИКА - Смоленское Поозерье

Экологические характеристики: Заповедник представляет интерес своим ландшафтным и биологическим разнообразием, которое вряд ли можно найти где-либо на такой же сравнительно небольшой территории. Основные типы экосистем следующие: уникальная система из 35 озер и многочисленных рек; болота и заливные луга вдоль ручьев с местными редкими видами орхидей; крупный комплекс длинных песчаных гряд, оставшихся от ледников; моховые болота, образованные 9000-11000 лет назад; перестойные хвойные, елово-широколиственные девственные леса с особым составом флоры и фауны. Флора состоит из более 900 видов сосудистых растений (из них 89 являются редкими для Смоленской области и для России). Из представителей животного мира здесь встречаются виды, типичные для степи, лесостепи и тайги. Популяция птиц состоит из более 225 видов, в том числе 67 редких. В водоемах обитает 35 видов рыб, и их обилие указывает на чистоту водной среды в этом регионе. Здесь имеются археологические памятники каменного, бронзового и железного веков, останки древнего города Вержавск вблизи озера Ржавец.

Дата регистрации: 2002 г.

Классификация: Национальный парк

Общая площадь поверхности: 156237 га

Заповедное ядро: 26261 га

Буферная зона: 85537 га

Переходные зоны: 44438 га

Человеческая деятельность: Вырубка лесов, мелиорация, строительство и прокладка новых линий связи, использование удобрений, гербицидов и пестицидов, преобразование в пахотные земли могут иметь разрушительное воздействие на территорию заповедника. Есть случаи пожаров и браконьерской охоты на лося и кабана, нарушения законов о рыболовстве.

Административное деление: Смоленская область

Контактная информация: Биосферный заповедник Смоленское Поозерье, 19, ул. Гуревича, г. Пржевальское, Демидовский р-н, Смоленская область, 216270 Россия. Тел: + 7 481 47 46636, fax: + 7 481 47 46636, E-mail: dgo@sci.smolensk.ru