Rene MAHEU, 1962 - 1974 гг.

(France, 1905 - 1975)

Acting Director-General of UNESCO
from June 5, 1959 to September 10, 1959;
from June 7, 1961 to November 14, 1962;

Director-General of UNESCO from November 15, 1962 to November 14, 1974 (two terms).

Associate Professor of Philosophy (1930-1933 in Cologne), diplomat, the Rabat Governor's Cabinet member.

Rene Maheu fulfilled responsible functions in the UNESCO Secretariat. He started as a director of the Department of free information wave, from 1949 he was chief of the Cabinet of the Director-General Torres Bodet, from 1954 he was attached to the Director-General, represented UNESCO from 1955 to 1958 under the UN in New York and in 1959 he was appointed Deputy Director-General.

R.Maheu, according to witnesses, combined all the qualities and abilities necessary for work as a Director-General: large intellectual potentialities, outstanding diplomatic abilities and high competence in difficult administrative questions. That is why he was often called “Monsieur le UNESCO”.

Maheu’s object was spreading new humanism, non-political ethics with the help of UNESCO. He has left numerous letters about all fields of UNESCO’s activity. He paid his special attention to preservation of the world heritage. Under his direction the UNESCO Secretariat was reformed in several stages.

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Рене МАЙО (Rene MAHEU, 1962 - 1974 гг.)

(Франция, 1905 - 1975)

Исполняющий обязанности Генерального Директора ЮНЕСКО
с 5 июня 1959 г. по 10 сентября 1959 г.;
с 7 июня 1961 г. по 14 ноября 1962 г.;

Генеральный Директор ЮНЕСКО с 15 ноября 1962 г. по 14 ноября 1974 г. (два срока).

Доцент философии (1930-1933 в Кельне), дипломат, член кабинета губернатора Рабата.

Рене Майо выполнял ответственные функции в Секретариате ЮНЕСКО. Он начинал как директор Отдела свободной информационной волны, с 1949 г. был шефом кабинета Генерального Директора Торреса Боде, с 1954 г. был прикомандирован при Гендиректоре, представлял ЮНЕСКО с 1955 по 1958 г.г. при ООН в Нью-Йорке и в 1959 г. был назначен заместителем Генерального Директора.

Р. Майо, по свидетельству очевидцев, объединял в себе все необходимые для работы Гендиректора качества и способности: большие интеллектуальные данные, выдающиеся дипломатические способности и высокую компетентность в сложных административных вопросах. Поэтому его часто называли "месье ЮНЕСКО".

Целью Майо было с помощью ЮНЕСКО распространять новый гуманизм, неполитическую этику. Он оставил многочисленные письма обо всех областях деятельности ЮНЕСКО. Свое особое внимание он уделял сохранению мирового наследия. Под его руководством в несколько этапов был реформирован Секретариат ЮНЕСКО.