Koichiro Matsuura, 1999 – 2009 гг.

Inauguration Ceremony of new Director-General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization took place in Paris on October 12, 2005. By results of the voting of the Member States delegates a distinguished Japanese diplomat Koichiro Matsuura was elected. He was re-elected to a second four-year term (for the first time he was elected to this post on November 15, 1999).

Features of biography

Mr. Koichiro Matsuura was born in 1937 in Tokyo, studied law in Tokyo University and economy in the Haverford College, the USA.

He began his career in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan in 1959.

From 1988 he is of the Economic Cooperation Bureau; from 1990 – Head of the North-American Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan; 1992-1994 - Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs; from 1994 - Ambassador of Japan to France, Andorra and Djibouti; up to November 1999 - Head of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee

Mr. Koichiro Matsuura is the author of six books on Japanese diplomacy, in the field of relations development between Japan and France, on history and prospects of meetings of the Group of 7, economic cooperation diplomacy, history of relationships between Japan and the United States.

He speaks Japanese, English, French and Spanish.

He is married, has 2 sons.

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Коитиро МАЦУУРА (Koichiro Matsuura, 1999 – 2009 гг.)

12 октября 2005 года в Париже состоялась церемония вступления в должность Генерального Директора Организации Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры. По результатам голосования принявших в нем участие делегатов государств-членов им стал видный японский дипломат Коитиро Мацуура. Он был переизбран на 4-х летний срок (впервые его избрали на этот пост 15 ноября 1999 года).

1999- Present UNESCO Director-General (elected for a six-year term on 15 November 1999 and re-elected for a second four-year term on 12 October 2005)

Штрихи биографии

Г-н Коитиро Мацуура родился в 1937 году в Токио, изучал право в Токийском Университете и экономику в Гавэрфорд Колледже, США.

Свою карьеру начал в Министерстве иностранных дел Японии в 1959 году.

С 1988 года - Генеральный директор Бюро по экономическому сотрудничеству; С 1990 года - Глава Северо-Американского департамента МИД Японии; 1992-1994 годы - заместитель министра иностранных дел; с 1994 года - посол Японии во Франции, Андорре и Джибути; до ноября 1999 года - руководитель Комитета всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО

Г-н Коитиро Мацуура - автор шести книг по японской дипломатии, в области развития отношений между Японией и Францией, по истории и перспективам встреч "Большой Семерки", дипломатии экономического сотрудничества, по истории отношений Японии и Соединенных Штатов.

Владеет японским, английским, французским и испанским языками.

Женат, имеет 2 сыновей.