Anzhelica Orlova

Concerning the Question of the Relevance of Sustainable Development-Related Courses in Economy Training

 Master’s program Economics of Sustainable Development has been implemented in PFUR since 2012 as part of 080100 Economics course at the Economics Faculty. The guru of the program was Tatyana A. Akimova, professor at the Department of Macroeconomic Management and Planning, Doctor of Economics. She was the first author and the first head of the program. The baton was then taken up by Yuriy N. Moseykin, Head of Department and Doctor of Economics.

Economics of Sustainable Development is aimed to make educated individuals fit to activities that require profound basic and professional training, inter alia to research work, to develop skills of applying research and cognitive methods to sustainable development management. Particular emphasis has been placed on shaping such system of knowledge, skills and view of the world that would lead an individual to make decisions and actions within the concept of sustainable development, greening of various sectors of economy, unification of natural environment and economic complexes from the sustainability perspective.

The idea of the program was conceived quite a long time ago and was repeatedly discussed at the meetings of the Department. The idea was warmed up by Economics of Sustainable Development that was an obligatory course within the master’s program Financial Economics. It became obvious in the course of training that students of economics (bachelors of economics) are not set to absorb this entirely new material, because the preceding four years of studies were almost totally devoted to purely economic subjects. Understanding current environmental situation, functioning of eco-economic systems and, as a consequence, understanding of how economy affects natural ecosystems, etc. were not even at the basic level. The Economy of Natural Resources Management course was the only exception, though optional. Giving due regard to the sustainability issue, it was decided to introduce relevant elective courses in the study program of the Economics Faculty. A respective master’s program was being developed at the same time.

So, the curriculum was gradually completed with such course units as Introduction to Sustainable Economics (2nd year), Macroeconomic Dimension of Sustainable Development (3rd year), Natural Capital in Sustainable Development (4th year). This laid the basis for shaping systematic knowledge and competencies in students that, given global developments, are not only issues of high concern but also issues that are highly relevant to their future work as economists. This profound work resulted in the establishment of the Economics of Sustainable Development master’s program that attracted students out of those who attended the courses mentioned above.

It should be emphasized that due attention is not paid to human-environment interaction, not mentioning the concept of sustainable development.  An opposite example is Lüneburg University known for its holistic approach. In addition to standard professional courses, Lüneburg University offers to its students of economics other subjects, both economics-related and, as it may seem, unrelated to it. The faculty believes students need to understand how economic processes are interrelated with other aspects of social life, and economic training needs to be multidimensional, versatile and systematic.

In conclusion it should be emphasized that such training approach providing for a set of courses (starting from the first years of study), giving insights in sustainable development, shaping holistic view of the world, developing a new way of thinking in students makes sure that a graduate with such systematic knowledge will become a competent professional capable of balanced decisions.

Appendix

List of course units within the program 080100 – Economics, master’s program Economics of Sustainable Development

 

Name of course unit

Contents

Basic courses

 

  • ·Professional foreign language;
  • ·Econometric (advanced);
  • ·Microeconomics (advanced);
  • ·Macroeconomics (advanced).

Optional courses

 

  • ·Evolution of major ideas of economic management;
  • ·Macroecology and macroeconomics: major interactions;
  • ·Economics of sustainable development;
  • ·Modeling of sustainable eco-economic systems;
  • ·Regional naturalresourcesmanagement;
  • ·New dimensions of sustainable development economics;
  • ·Environmental assessment of investment projects;
  • ·National wealth: modern approaches to measurement.

Electivecourses, moduled

 

  • ·Public healthcare economy and finance
  • ·Investment activity in the context of sustainable development;
  • ·Environmental management;
  • ·Human development: a new dimension of social and economic progress;
  • ·Legal aspects of business activities;
  • ·Corporate reporting in the context of sustainable development indicators;
  • ·Economy and finance of social security;
  • ·Basics of technical regulation in natural resources management
  • ·Economy and finance in education;
  • ·Audit of economic and social programs efficiency in terms of the sustainable development economics;
  • ·System of public control and information reliability in achieving sustainable development goals;
  • ·Mechanisms of project financing of sustainable development of social and economic systems.

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

А.Ф.Орлова

К вопросу о значении дисциплин отражающих аспекты

устойчивого развития в экономическом образовании

Магистерская программа «Экономика устойчивого развития» реализуется в рамках направления 080100 «Экономика» на экономическом факультете РУДН с 2012 г. Главным идеологом создания программы на факультете была профессор кафедры макроэкономического регулирования и планирования, д.э.н. Акимова Татьяна Акимовна. Она же являлась разработчиком и первым руководителем этой программы. Впоследствии эстафету принял заведующий кафедрой, д.э.н. Мосейкин Юрий Никитович.

Целью магистерской программы «Экономика устойчивого развития» является подготовка высокообразованных граждан к деятельности, требующей углубленной фундаментальной и профессиональной подготовки, в том числе к научно-исследовательской работе, выработке и развитию навыков применения научной методологии и методик познания в управлении устойчивым развитием. Особое внимание обращено на формирование системы знаний, навыков и мировоззрения, необходимых для принятия решений и осуществления деятельности в контексте концепции устойчивого развития,  экологизации  отдельных сфер экономики, организации природно-хозяйственных комплексов с позиций устойчивого развития.

Идея создания этой программы возникла достаточно давно и неоднократно обсуждалась на заседаниях кафедры. Этому способствовало чтение дисциплины «Экономика устойчивого развития» как обязательной для изучения в рамках магистерской программы «Финансовая экономика». В процессе реализации учебного процесса стало понятно, что студенты-экономисты (выпускники бакалавриата по направлению «Экономика») не готовы к восприятию совершенно нового для них материала, поскольку все предшествующие четыре года обучения в бакалавриате студенты изучали в значительном объеме дисциплины исключительно экономической направленности. Базовые знания, касающиеся, например, осмысления современной экологической ситуации, функционирования эколого-экономических систем, а, следовательно, анализа воздействия хозяйственной деятельности человека на природные экосистемы и пр. практически отсутствовали. Исключением можно назвать дисциплину «Экономика природопользования», которая предлагалась для изучения в качестве элективной. Учитывая актуальность проблемы устойчивого развития, было принято решение поэтапного включения соответствующих элективных дисциплин в учебные планы экономического факультета. Одновременно шла подготовка магистерской программы.

Итак, в учебные планы факультета были последовательно включены такие дисциплины, как «Введение в экономику устойчивого развития» (2 курс), «Макроэкономическое измерение устойчивого развития» (3 курс), «Природный капитал в устойчивом развитии» (4 курс). Таким образом, началось формирование определенных системных знаний и компетенций у студентов, являющихся, при сложившейся в мире ситуации, не только актуальными, но и необходимыми для их будущей работы экономистов. Итогом этой серьезной работы стало создание магистерской программы «Экономика устойчивого развития», нашедшей своих слушателей из числа тех студентов, которые посещали перечисленные спецкурсы.

Хочется отметить тот факт, что аспектам взаимодействия человека и природы, не говоря уже о понятии устойчивого развития, не уделяют должного внимания. Можно привести пример опыта функционирования Университета Люнебурга, где дается цельное, холистическое, образование. В Университете Люнебурга студентам-экономистам, помимо стандартного набора соответствующих профилю дисциплин, даются предметы других направлений, как близких к экономике, так и, казалось бы, с ней не связанных. Руководство Университета считает, что студенты должны понимать взаимосвязь экономических процессов с другими аспектами общественной жизни, а обучение экономике должно быть комплексным, разносторонним и системным.

В заключение нужно сказать, что если придерживаться подобной концепции обучения студентов-экономистов, включая в учебные планы (с первых курсов) набор дисциплин отражающих аспекты устойчивого развития, дающих целостное представление о мире, формирующих у студентов новый образ мышления, выпускник факультета, обладающий такими системными знаниями, будет достаточно компетентным специалистом, способным принимать адекватные решения.

Приложение

Учебные дисциплины подготовки магистров по направлению 080100 – Экономика, магистерская программа «Экономика устойчивого развития»  

 

Наименование дисциплины

Содержание дисциплины

Базовые дисциплины направления

 

  • ·Профессиональный иностранный язык;
  • ·Эконометрика (продвинутый курс);
  • ·Микроэкономика (продвинутый курс);
  • ·Макроэкономика (продвинутый курс).

Вариативные дисциплины

 

  • ·Эволюция основных концепций регулирования экономики;
  • ·Макроэкология и макроэкономика: основные взаимодействия;
  • ·Экономика устойчивого развития; 
  • ·Моделирование устойчивых природно-хозяйственных комплексов;
  • ·Управление природопользованием в регионе;
  • ·Новые измерения в экономике устойчивого развития;
  • ·Экологическая экспертиза инвестиционных проектов;
  • ·Национальное богатство: современные подходы к измерению.

Элективные дисциплины, объединенные в несколько блоков

 

  • ·Экономика и финансы здравоохранения;
  • ·Инвестиционная деятельность в контексте устойчивого развития;
  • ·Экологический менеджмент;
  • ·Человеческое развитие: новое измерение социально-экономического прогресса;
  • ·Правовое регулирование хозяйственной деятельности;
  • ·Корпоративная отчетность в системе показателей устойчивого развития;
  • ·Экономика и финансы  социального обеспечения;
  • ·Основы технического регулирования в природопользовании
  • ·Экономика и финансы образования;
  • ·Аудит эффективности и рациональности экономических и социальных программ в рамках ЭУР;
  • ·Система госконтроля и обеспечения достоверности информации при достижении целей ЭУР;
  • ·Механизмы проектного финансирования устойчивого развития социально-экономических систем.