Olga Bogatyryeva

 

 

 

Sustainable development principles as a basis for bachelor’s and master’s degree education programmes at the Department of International Relations, the Ural Federal University.

 

 

“Education presents one of the prerequisites for achieving sustainable development and one of the most important tools for effective management and democracy development[1]” in contemporary society. Education for sustainable development (ESD) is aimed at training of a new type of specialists that are able to respond to challenges and ready to live in the world of ongoing changes. At the Department of International Relations, at the Ural State University named after the first President of Russia B.N. Yeltsin, the emphasis in training of students is put on the development of analytical skills, self-sufficiency, critical thinking and creativity.

Modern labour market is focused on bestowing individual working places. According to the Dean of the Department of International Relations, Professor V.I. Mikhailenko, there is no so-called “mass «journey» into profession” any more. That means the graduates, having acquired appropriate professional competences, should be mobile and competitive at labour market. Devising the curriculum and a set of disciplines, the Department tries to create specific “points of potential growth”, which may be (or will be in future) in great demand and thus can be activated by the graduates in various situations. The primary task of the Department of International Relations is to organize conditions that help students not only to find job, but also to become prepared to occupational mobility and to continuously develop their professional skills.

The training programme in “International Relations” is realized by two chairs of the Department - Sub-department of Theory and History of International Relations and Sub-department of UNESCO for human rights, peace, democracy, tolerance and international understanding. Wide range of professional tasks is resolved within baccalaureate and broad education is the main purpose, realized within the framework of two specializations – “World politics and international business” and “International relations and foreign policy”.

Curricula consist of several professional educational modules (units of disciplines):

“Foreign Languages” (including English, Italian, Spanish, French, German, Chinese);

“Diplomacy, world politics and international relations”;

“International law”;

“Economics and world economy”;

“State regulation of international processes and foreign trade”;

“Global and regional security and conflict settlement”.

Master’s degree can be obtained by accomplishing one of programmes, including “Global and regional security and conflict settlement” and “Legal regulation of international processes”. These programmes concentrate on using collaborative, interactive educational methods, a lot of time is devoted to independent research and practice.

Education for sustainable development requires not only “providing students with knowledge”, but also teaching them “to work out a problem and to search for a possible solution”. Therefore the staff of the Department, while maintaining the traditional aspect of communication, gives opportunities for multisided and interdisciplinary analysis of situations and cases, occurring in real life. That leads, firstly, to alterations in curriculum structure, secondly, to introduction of new teaching methods that allow students to become recipients of information as well as active participants of the educational process.

All of the mentioned tasks are accomplished due to the following factors. First of all, the Department of International Relations has joined high-qualified, knowledgeable specialists in different subject areas, who have a proper experience of field work. Taking into account the interdisciplinary aspect of educational programmes within “International Relations” specialization the staff includes not only international relations specialists, but also historians, jurisprudents, economists, linguists, political scientists, philosophers. Moreover the cooperation with practitioners has a great significance in the work of the Department.  The representatives of Management department of the Ministry of industry and trade in the Ural federal region and the Representative office of the Ministry for foreign affairs are associate professors of the faculty. Some of the department workers have many years’ experience of the UNO peacekeeping missions and government service in the Ministry of international and foreign economic relations of Sverdlovsk region.

Interdisciplinary education, underpinning the content of sustainable development, is implemented with the help of partners of the Department – foreign universities and research centers, governmental and public bodies and local authorities. Cooperating organizations are presented by the Representative office of the Ministry for foreign affairs; the Office of Ombudsman of Sverdlovsk oblast; the Office of Ombudsman for children of Sverdlovsk oblast; Association of history, law and social sciences teachers; Associated network of UNESCO schools in Sverdlovsk oblast; Russian international affairs council; the Research center for political aspects of security; European Community Information Center; United Nations Association of Russia; Swedish Radiation Safety Authority; James Martin Center for Non-proliferation Studies (the USA); Preparatory commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organisation (headquartered in Vienna, Austria), the universities of Italy, China, Spain, the Czech Republic, Kazakhstan, Germany, France etc. Besides this, the Department is an active participant of the EU TEMPUS programme together with the universities of Spain, Latvia, Italy and Sweden.

The Department of International Relations managed to create a broad cooperation network with Russian and foreign partners. Its work has involved not only the members of staff, but also students, undergraduates, postgraduates and future entrants. Thus, training of future specialists comprises partnership and cooperation of various institutions.

Considering module “Global and regional security and conflict settlement”, it is easy to follow the implementation of interdisciplinary approach and convergence ideas into as well as cooperation process among professors, students, undergraduates and practitioners. The Research and Education Center for security problems and non-proliferation was created at the Sub-department of theory and history of international relations, uniting professors and interested students. Open lectures devoted to the grounds of nuclear physics and the perspectives of contemporary nuclear industry at the Department of Applied Physics (at the URFU) are an inalienable part of the course “Non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction and disarmament problems” for the students of third grade. Moreover, within the framework of this course every year the students of the Department of IR visit the Ural Electrochemical Plant in Novouralsk, participate in traditional Regional theoretical and practical conference “April reading” for the schools of towns, having closed autonomous status (ZATO).

The teaching process within this module involves using of World Wide Web advantages and opportunities. The Ural Federal University is the only institution, working with distance learning programme of the education portal of the Preparatory commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, widely using the sources of the CTBT Organisation. 49 students and undergraduates, studying “International Relations”, are the participants of intensive distance learning course in the English language called “Multilateral Verification, Collective Security: Contribution of the CTBT”, organised together with CTBTO Preparatory Commission.

The Sub-department of theory and history of international relations works in close cooperation with the Sub-department of UNESCO for human rights, peace, democracy, tolerance and international understanding. The UNESCO sub-department is a degree-granting chair, realizing the programme “Legal regulation of international processes”. Major tasks of this sub-department include: enhancing the preparation level of future specialists in international relations and assistance in improving communicative competences and tolerance. These problems are solved not only due to the carefully thought-out curriculum and programmes. The sub-department pays great attention to involving students and undergraduates into wide-scale discussion of social, legal, cultural, ecological aspects of the contemporary society development taking into account their interdependency. The UNESCO sub-department has stable cooperative relations with the Ombudsman of Sverdlovsk oblast, T.G. Merzlyakova, and the Ombudsman for children of Sverdlovsk oblast, I.R. Morokov. Traditionally on the eve of international Human Rights Day the Sub-department of UNESCO organizes December Conference on human rights – “Person, society and the world”. The students of different faculties, departments and specializations, interested in various aspects of human rights and tolerance, take part in the Conference. The most attractive point is the specificity and multisided problematic of human rights question.  Sub-department of UNESCO for human rights, peace, democracy, tolerance and international understanding works in close cooperation with the Public council for migration problems under the Office of Ombudsman. The sub-department gives consultations in various migration problems, relying on international experience of migrants’ integration in the society of receiving country. Common research results of professors, students and undergraduates comprise the basis for provided materials, reports and information.

It is significant to mention that the Department of International Relations tries to build firm cooperation with school-leavers. The School of young international affairs expert (for pupils of 8-11 grades) exists within the structure of the Department.   There are three directions of work: lectures of academic staff, discussions and business games; research work carried out by high school students; participation in scientific and cultural activities of the Department. The faculty helps to get together talented young people, having concern in policy, diplomacy and image of the Russian Federation in the world as well as in the future of the country. Within the framework of the second December Conference (December 2012) pupils of 9-11 grades presented their research papers, devoted to acute and debatable questions, complicated even for experts: “Multiculturalism: for and against”, “Youth subculture: tolerance aspect”, “The problem of tolerance in the modern international relations”. The presented reports embraced a wide range of questions, regarding human rights protection, building democracy and self-government, tolerance in relations, ecologic culture formation. The major interest was evoked by presentation of students of Pervouralsk Metallurgic College, focused on “white” metallurgy, the right of citizens to clean environment and student self-government system at the college dormitory.

Education process is concentrated on inculcating and developing such competences as systematic thinking, analyzing, independence, ability to speak foreign languages and culture knowledge of international communication. Creativity, self-sufficiency and high self-esteem can be named among distinguishing features of students of the Department of IR. One of the students, Denis Gulyar, together with other representatives of the faculty, introduced and due to the help of Yekaterinburg city Administration implemented a social project “Global mind”, which became a part of a campaign, supporting the candidacy of Yekaterinburg to be the host of “EXPO-2020”. Students of Yekaterinburg universities organised a good will mission to the remote regions of several states in Africa, Asia and Latin America in order to provide them with communication technologies and share knowledge. Denis and some of the participants visited Namibia, where they worked with children, who were not (from the point of citizens of developed countries) familiar with elementary benefits of civilization. The motive force behind was not only based on striving to help the native city to acquire the host title, but also decent humanitarian purposes of struggle against poverty, helping children of developing countries, the urge to show them the world and give hope.

 

In conclusion, it is important to notice that it would not be correct to speak only about positive aspects. Some of the modern problems, having impact on the whole Russian society, influence the work of the Department of International Relations.  These include legal nihilism and the lack of resources, connected with continual underfunding of the universities, the lack and absence of budget places in master’s and bachelor’s programmes, increase of bureaucracy in management, organization and control over university activities as well as gradual vanishing of the specific democratic university atmosphere. Inequality of Russian regions is revealed during the admission procedures and uncovers different preparation levels of the entrants. The last factor significantly impedes students’ adaptation to the requirements and study conditions at the federal university. The achievements and success in studies are decreased owing to low level of school training, narrow mental outlook and inability of some students to perceive new methods of receiving and processing information. Thus, the paradox is witnessed – while the community is transforming into information society in the era of knowledge and information, the school leavers tend to be losing particular knowledge, abilities and skills.                                                                                                                                                                                



[1]              Стратегия ЕЭК ООН для образования в  интересах устойчивого развития (2005) // Образование в интересах устойчивого развития в международных документах и соглашениях. М., 2005. С. 93.

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

О. Н. Богатырева

 

 

Опыт использования контента об устойчивом развитии в подготовке бакалавров и магистров в департаменте международных отношений Уральского Федерального университета

 

В современном обществе «образование выступает в качестве одной из предпосылок для достижения устойчивого развития и важнейшим инструментом эффективного управления и развития демократии»[1]. Образование в интересах устойчивого развития (ОУР) нацелено на подготовку специалистов нового типа, отвечающих вызовам времени, готовых к жизни в условиях быстро меняющегося общества. В департаменте международных отношений Уральского Федерального университета им. Первого президента России Б. Н. Ельцина при организации учебного процесса упор делается на развитие аналитических навыков, самостоятельности, критичного и творческого мышления студентов.

Современный рынок труда ориентирован на предоставление исключительно индивидуальных рабочих мест. По выражению директора департаментам международных отношений, профессора В. И. Михайленко, «массового “заплыва” в профессию» больше не существует. Это означает, что выпускники, обладая набором профессионально ориентированных компетенций, должны быть мобильными и конкурентоспособными на рынке труда. Программируя набор учебных дисциплин, департамент международных пытается создать своеобразные «точки роста», которые могут быть востребованы и активизированы выпускниками в различных жизненных ситуациях. Задача департамента состоит в создании условий, при которых выпускнику легче будет не только найти работу, но и быть готовым к профессиональной мобильности, непрерывно повышая профессиональную квалификацию.

Программу подготовки по направлению «международные отношения» реализуют две кафедры департамента – кафедра теории и истории международных отношений и кафедра ЮНЕСКО прав человека, мира, демократии, толерантности и международного взаимопонимания. На уровне бакалавриата решаются общепрофессиональные задачи и здесь существуют два основных профиля обучения: «Мировая политика и международный бизнес» и «Международные отношения и внешняя политика».

Учебные планы состоят из нескольких профессиональных модулей обучения (блоков учебных дисциплин):

модуль «иностранные языки» (английский, итальянский, испанский, французский, немецкий, китайский);

модуль «дипломатия, мировая политика и международные отношения»;

модуль «международное право»; модуль «экономика и мировая экономика»;

модуль «государственное регулирование международных процессов и внешней торговли»;

модуль «глобальная и региональная безопасность, урегулирование конфликтов».

В магистратуре реализуются две магистерские программы «Глобальная и региональная безопасность и урегулирование конфликтов» и «Правовое регулирование международных процессов». Обучение в магистратуре ориентировано на использование диалоговых, коллаборативных методов обучения, значительное время отводится на самостоятельную работу и практику.

Поскольку образование в интересах устойчивого развития требует не только «обеспечить знаниями», но и обучить «проработке проблем и поиску возможных решений», профессорско-преподавательский состав, сохраняя традиционный аспект передачи информации, открывает возможности для многостороннего и междисциплинарного анализа ситуаций, возникающих в реальной жизни. Это ведет, во-первых, к изменению структуры учебных программ, а во-вторых, к использованию новых методов преподавания, при которых студент становится не только получателем информации, но и активным осуществляя совместные действия.

Указанные задачи удается решать благодаря следующим факторам. Прежде всего, в департаменте сформирован коллектив преподавателей высокой квалификации с опытом профильной работы. Поскольку реализуемые программы носят междисциплинарный характер, преподавательский состав, работающий на направлении «международные отношения» представлен не только специалистами в области международных отношений, но и историками, правоведами, экономистами, лингвистами, политологами. Кроме того, огромное значение в департаменте придается сотрудничеству с практиками. Доцентами кафедры являются сотрудники Управления министерства промышленности и торговли в Уральском Федеральном округе и Представительства МИД РФ в Екатеринбурге. Среди преподавателей кафедры – специалисты, имеющие многолетний опыт участия в миротворческих операциях ООН и опыт службы в Министерстве международных и внешнеэкономических связей Свердловской области.

Междисциплинарное обучение, лежащее в основе понятия устойчивое развитие, осуществляется с помощью партнеров департамента – зарубежных университетов и научных центров, государственных, муниципальных и общественных структур. Среди партнеров департамента – Представительство МИД РФ, Аппарат Уполномоченного по правам человека Свердловской области, Аппарат Уполномоченного по правам ребенка Свердловской области, Ассоциация учителей истории, обществознания, права, Ассоциированная сеть школ ЮНЕСКО Свердловской области, Российский Совет по международным делам, Центр изучения политических проблем безопасности, Информационный центр Европейского Союза EU-I, Российская Ассоциация Содействия ООН, Шведское Агентство по радиационной безопасности, Центр изучения проблем нераспространения им. Дж. Мартина (США), Подготовительная комиссия Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний (штаб-квартира в Вене), университеты Китая, Италии, Испании, Чехии, Казахстана, Германии, Франции и др. Кроме того, департамент участвует в европейской программе ТЕМПУС с университетами Испании, Латвии, Италии и Швеции.

Департаменту удалось создать широкую сеть сотрудничества с российскими и зарубежными партнерами, в которую широко вовлечены не только преподаватели, но и студенты, магистранты, аспиранты, слушатели подготовительных курсов – будущие абитуриенты, учащиеся школ и колледжей Свердловской области. Таким образом, система подготовки бакалавров и магистров охватывает партнерство и сотрудничество различных институтов общества. 

Проследим на примере модуля «Глобальная и региональная безопасность, урегулирование конфликтов», как реализуется идея конвергенции и междисциплинарности и осуществляется сотрудничество преподавателей, студентов, магистрантов и практиков. На кафедре теории и истории международных отношений создан Центр исследований и образования в области безопасности и нераспространения, объединивший преподавателей и студентов. Составной частью дисциплины «Нераспространение ОМУ и проблемы разоружения» для студентов 3 курса являются открытые лекции кафедры технической физики УрФУ по основам ядерной физики и перспективам современной мирной атомной промышленности. Кроме того, в рамках данного курса студенты посещают Уральский электрохимический комбинат (УЭХК) в г. Новоуральске Свердловской области, участвуют в традиционной Региональной научно-практической конференции «Апрельские чтения» для школ Закрытых автономных территориальных объединений (ЗАТО).

В процессе реализации модуля широко используются достоинства и возможности «седьмого океана» – Интернета. Уральский федеральный университет является единственным вузом, который работает с дистанционным модулем образовательного портала и командой Подготовительного Комитета ДВЗЯИ, полномасштабно используя ресурсы Организации Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний. 49 студентов и магистрантов направления «международные отношения» являются участниками интенсивного дистанционного курса на английском языке “Multilateral Verification, Collective Security: Contribution of the CTBT”, организованном совместно с Подготовительным комитетом организации Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний.

Кафедра теории и истории международных отношений работает в творческом содружестве с кафедрой ЮНЕСКО прав человека, мира, демократии, толерантности и международного взаимопонимания, находящейся в структуре департамента международных отношений. Кафедра ЮНЕСКО является выпускающей и реализует программу магистерской подготовки «Правовое регулирование международных процессов». Основные задачи кафедры состоят в повышении уровня подготовки специалистов  в области международных отношений и содействии воспитания коммуникативной грамотности и толерантности. Данные задачи решаются не только в ходе реализации учебных планов и программ. Большое внимание кафедра ЮНЕСКО уделяет привлечению студентов и магистрантов к обсуждению социальных, правовых, экологических и культурных аспектов современного общества в их единстве и взаимосвязи. Кафедра работает в тесном сотрудничестве с  Уполномоченным по правам человека в Свердловской области Т. Г. Мерзляковой и Уполномоченным по правам ребенка в Свердловской области И. Р. Мороковым. Традиционно в декабре в канун Международного дня защиты прав человека кафедра ЮНЕСКО проводит Декабрьские чтения по правам человека «Личность, социум и мир». В чтениях принимают участие студенты, магистранты, аспиранты и преподаватели самых разных направлений и специальностей, интересующиеся проблемами толерантности и защиты прав человека. Междисциплинарная направленность и многогранность проблематики прав человека привлекают к чтениям студентов и магистрантов самых разных направлений и специальностей. Кроме того, кафедра ЮНЕСКО сотрудничает с Общественным советом по проблемам миграции при Уполномоченном по правам человека в Свердловской области. Кафедра ЮНЕСКО оказывает консультирование по проблемам миграции с учетом зарубежного опыта интеграции мигрантов в общество принимаемой страны. В основе предоставляемых материалов лежат результаты совместной научно-исследовательской работы студентов, магистрантов и преподавателей.

Особо отметим, что кафедры департамента работают не только со «взрослыми» партнерами. При департаменте открыта школа юного международника для учащихся 8–11 классов. Работа ведется по трем основным направлениям: лекции преподавателей, дискуссии и деловые игры; исследовательская работа школьников; участие в научных и культурных мероприятиях факультета. Департамент собирает всех талантливых ребят, неравнодушных к политике, к дипломатии, к образу России в мире и к будущему своей страны. Так, в декабре 2012 г. в рамках Вторых декабрьских чтений по правам человека работала юношеская конференция «Проблемы демократии и толерантности в современном мире». Школьники 9–11-х классов выступали по очень сложным даже для серьезных исследователей проблемам: «Мультикультурализм: за и против», «Молодежная субкультура: проблемы толерантности», «Проблема толерантности в современных международных отношениях». Тематика выступлений охватывала различные аспекты актуальных проблем защиты прав человека, становления демократии и самоуправления, толерантных отношений, формирования экологической культуры. Так, наибольший интерес вызвали выступления учащихся Первоуральского металлургического колледжа, посвященные «белой металлургии», как праву человека на благоприятную окружающую среду и системе студенческого самоуправления в металлургическом колледже.

В процессе обучения большое внимание уделяется формированию у студентов таких компетенций, как самостоятельность и системность мышления, способность свободно пользоваться иностранными языками и владение корректной культурой международного сотрудничества. Студенты департамента отличаются креативностью, самодостаточностью и высокой самооценкой. Студент департамента Денис Гуляр вместе с другими студентами-международниками придумал и при поддержке администрации Екатеринбурга претворил в жизнь социальный проект «Глобальный разум», реализованный в рамках кампании по поддержке кандидатуры Екатеринбурга на право проведения «ЭКСПО–2020». В рамках проекта студенты екатеринбургских вузов отправились с доброй миссией в отдаленные уголки Азии, Африки и Латинской Америки, чтобы установить интернет и поделиться своими знаниями. Денис вместе с другими участниками посетил Намибию, где они работали с детьми, которым не знакомы даже самые элементарные, с точки зрения жителей развитых стран, блага цивилизации. Молодыми людьми двигало не только стремление помочь городу получить право проведения ЭКСПО, но и благородные гуманитарные цели борьбы с бедностью, помощи детям в развивающихся странах, стремление открыть им мир и подарить надежду.

В заключение отметим, что было бы неправильно говорить только об успехах. На работе департамента отражаются общие проблемы, присущие современному российскому обществу и несовершенство системы высшего образования. Это и правовой нигилизм, и недостаток ресурсов, связанный с хроническим недофинансированием вузов, почти полное отсутствие бюджетных мест в бакалавриате и магистратуре, усиление бюрократического стиля в организации, управлении и контроле деятельности вузов и, как следствие, постепенный уход особой демократической университетской атмосферы. Особо следует отметить диспаритет российских регионов, проявляющийся в различном уровне подготовки абитуриентов, поступающих в департамент международных отношений. Последний фактор существенно осложняет процесс адаптации студентов к условиям обучения в федеральном университете. Неподготовленность ряда студентов к новым способам восприятия и переработки информации, низкий уровень школьной подготовки и узкий кругозор снижают успешность обучения. Приходится сталкиваться с парадоксальной ситуацией, когда при переходе социума к информационному обществу – «обществу знания», конкретных знаний у выпускников школ становится все меньше.



[1]              Стратегия ЕЭК ООН для образования в  интересах устойчивого развития (2005) // Образование в интересах устойчивого развития в международных документах и соглашениях. М., 2005. С. 93. [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://www.ecoaccord.org/edu/edu_docs_ru.pdf (дата обращения 29.03.2013)