The 2011 year brief report of National Committee for International Geoscience Program (IGCP)

The activity of IGCP over 2010 was resumed in UNESCO headquaters during the 39th session of the IGCP Scientific Board in February, 2011. The session discussed both the activity of International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) over the 50 years of its existence and the results of IGCP project performance over 2010 and the perspectives for 2011. The Russian members of the session took an active part in the discussion of the IGCP activity and particular projects. It was noted that the researches in most of the IGCP projects with participation of Russian scientists were carried out on a high scientific level.

The session approved 10 new projects, in 4 of which Russian scientists take part.

In 2011 IGCP program framework included 29 projects. Russia participated in 12 projects.

Russian scientists are managers and comanagers of the following projects:

IGCP project No 540 “Gold-bearing hydrothermal fluids of orogenic deposits” (2007-2011), V.Yu. Prokofiev, G.M.D. /Doctor of Geological and Mineralogical sciences/, the comanager of the project, Institute of Geology of Ore Deposits, Petrography, Mineralogy, and Geochemistry (IGEM RAS /Russian Academy of Sciences/) ;

IGCP project No 587 “Identity, facies and time - the Ediacaran (Vendian) puzzle”, (2010-2014) M.A. Fedonkin, academician, the manager of the project, Geological Institute (GIN RAS);

IGCP project No 596 “Climate change and biodiversity in the Middle Paleozoic period”, N.G. Izokh, G.M.D., the comanager of the project, Institute of Petroleum-Gas Geology and Geophysics (IPGG RAS), Novosibirsk.

The following works were conducted for the project No 507 “Paleoclimates of the Cretaceous period in Asia”:

- Data from the 6-10-kilometer apt-maastrichtian chain of East Asian continental margin of Sakhalin and Hokkaido were summarized and correlated. The composition and structure of the Amur-Gorin fragment of the Late Mesozoic East Asian accretionary system were reconstructed on the basis of analysis of the up-to-date information on the structure of the modern accretionary prism of the Nankai Trough;

- Ocean chalk deposits of Amur terrain, their age (by radiolarians), as well as the stratigraphy and structure of the chalk accretionary prism of the East Sakhalin were studied;

- Geochemical peculiarities of the chalky basalts, opened with a deep hole on Moneron Island, were researched;

- A series of paleogeographic schemes of the Sikhote-Alin fold system for the Mesozoic (including the Cretaceous) period was made;

G.L. Kirillova (Institute of Tectonics and Geophysics, Far East Division, RAS, Khabarovsk) took part in the 6th International Symposium “Paleoclimates of the Cretaceous period in Asia and their global correlation” (IGCP project No 507) that took place in Beijing (PRC) on 15-19 August , 2011. About 70 scientists from 9 countries - China, Japan, Korea, India, Indonesia, Russia, USA, Switzerland, France – participated in the Symposium. G.L. Kirillova gave a lecture on “Evolution of Outer Manchuria fragment of chalk continental margin: main geologic events”, which was dedicated to stratigraphy,

FROM: Russian NCG PHONE NO.: 2308178 JAN. 19 2012 05:30PM P3

sedimentologic evolution, geodynamics, and paleoclimate of this region bordering with China.

The Symposium was concluded with the three-day thematic field excursion “Nonmarine chalk deposits, Jehol biota in West Liaoning province, northeast China”.

During the work for the project No 540 “Gold-bearing hydrothermal fluids of orogenic deposits” deposits of gold and silver were discovered in the central part of Chukotka Peninsula, different types of fluid inclusions in quartzes and calcites of gold-bearing lodes of different deposits of Siberia and the Far East were studied.

At the seminar “Au-transporting fluids in the Earth’s crust” on the project No. 540 conducted in Antofagasta (Chili) during the 11th SGA session on 26-29 September, 2011 Russian scientists delivered a lecture on “The Arkachan world-class gold deposit, Eastern Yakutia, Russia: REE, fluid inclusion and stable isotope studies” (authors: Bortnikov et al.).

In 2011 the work within the project No. 559 “Crustal architecture and landscape evolution” was conducted in the following directions:

- Preparation of a session, corresponding to the title of the project No. 559, that is set in the program of General Assembly of International Union of Geologists and Geophysicists (Melbourne, Australia).

- Further development of the website of the project No. 559 (http://www.earthscrust.org/news.html);

- Preparation of a session on the project, which will take place within the 34th International Geological Congress in Brisbane (Australia) in 2012.

 

New data on restoration of brachiopods and ammonites faunas following the ecologic crisis at the end of the Permian were obtained on the basis of the original evidences in Russian Far East and Central Asia (Kazakhstan) within the project No. 572 “Restoration of marine ecosystems following the Permian-Triassic mass extinction: lessons for the present”.

The first data on shell inner structure of the early Olenekian ammonites of Melagaticeratidae family (Ptychitina suborder) were obtained from the material of the Southern Primorye.

New taxons of the early Olenekian melagaticeratidae – new genus of Melagaticeratidae family and two new species – were described.

Workers of IPGG SB RAS, IGEM SB RAS, and Institute of Geology of Czech Academy of Sciences carried out joint field works in Barrandian (Czech Republic) within the project No. 580 “Magnetic susceptibility, correlations and palaeoenvironments”. In the first place the attention was paid to the study of Pragian and Emsian stages and obtaining of more accurate information on interregional correlation of the Law Devonian deposits of Salair (Russia), Barrandian (Czech Republic) and the western Tien Shan (Uzbekistan).

Participation in the annual meeting in the framework of the International Geological Program of the project No. 580 “Application of magnetic susceptibility on Paleozoic sedimentary rocks” on 11-16 October, 2011, Prague (Czech Republic).

In autumn of 2011 the field works for the project No. 587 were carried out in Namibia with participation of Russian scientists. A number of articles were published.

Within the project No. 596 “Climate change and biodiversity patterns in the Mid-Paleozoic (from the early Devonian to the late Paleozoic)”:

FROM: Russian NCG PHONE NO.: 2308178 JAN. 19 2012 05:33PM P1

- Brachiopods and conodonts from Frasnian - Famennian border deposits in the section of the Upper Devonian of Barzas district of the northeastern margin of the Kuznetsk Basin were researched.

- Revision of lithologic structure was made and paleontological characteristic of the section of the Emsian and the lower Eifelian stages by Zinzilban and Hodja-Kurgan on the territory of Kitob State Geological Reserve (Uzbekistan Republic) was given.

International conference “Biostratigraphy, paleography and events in the Devonian and the Low Carboniferous” was held in Novosibirsk and Ufa on 20 of July -10 of August, 2011. Within the context of the conference two geological field excursions were conducted on the western slope of the Southern Ural and in Salair and the Kuznetsk Basin.

Throughout the works on the IGCP project No. 512 “Neoproterozoic ice ages”, which ended within the framework of IGCP in 2010, the following researches were carried out:

- Ice sheets of neoproterozoic glaciations of central Siberia were reconstructed.

- Field works were conducted and rock material for isotopic assay of the vendian glacial deposits at the Baikal-Patom upland and the Central Ural was collected.

In July – August of 2011 the international conference “Neoproterozoic sedimentary basins: stratigraphy, geodynamics, and oil-and-gas-bearing” was held in Novosibirsk. At the conference the following lectures were delivered: “Vendian sinking of the southeastern part of the Siberian Craton: geodynamics and formation of the basin” (Yu.K. Sovetov), “Vendian key section of Central Siberia and glacial periods of the Proterozoic“ (N.M. Chumakov). After the conference Yu.K. Sovetov organized and conducted a field work meeting in Eastern Sayan.

In August of 2012 the 34th International Geological Congress will take place in Brisbane (Australia). During the Congress conferences on IGCP projects will be conducted with participation of Russian scientists.

Academic secretary of the Committee

Ayvazova Svetlana Yurevna

 

Projects, in which Russian scientists took part in 2011.

Project 507 “Paleoclimates in Asia during the Cretaceous and their global correlation” (2006-2010, extended for 2011);

Project 526 “Risks resources and record of the past on the continental shelf” (2007-2011)

Project 540 “Gold-bearing hydrothermal fluids of orogenic deposits” (2007-2011);

Project 559 “Crustal architecture and landscape evolution” (2008-2012)

Project 572 “Restoration of marine ecosystems following the Permian-Triassic mass extinction: lessons for the present” (2008-2012)

Project 574 “Bending and bent orogens, and continental ribbons” (2009-2013)

Project 580 “Magnetic susceptibility, correlations and palaeoenvironments” (2009-2013)

Project 587 “Identity, facies and time - the Ediacaran (Vendian) puzzle” (2010-2014)

Project 591 “The early to middle Palaeozoic revolution” (2011-2015)

Project 597 “Amalgamation and breakup Pangaea: the type example of the supercontinent cycle” (2011-201)

Project 598 “Environmental change and sustainability in karst systems” (2011-2014)

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Краткий отчет Национального комитета Международной программы по геонаукам (МПГК) за 2011 год

Итоги деятельности МПГК за 2010 г. подводились во время 39-ой сессии Научного совега МПГК в феврале 2011 г. в штаб-квартире ЮНЕСКО. На сессии обсуждались как деятельность Международного Союза геологических наук (МСГН) за 50 лет ее существования, так и результаты выполнения проектов МПГК за 2010 г. и перспективы деятельности в 2011 г. В обсуждении деятельности МПГК и конкретных проектов активное участие принимали российские участники сессии. Было отмечено, что исследования в большинстве проектов МПГК, в которых принимали участие российские ученые, были выполнены на высоком научном уровне.

На сессии было принято 10 новых проектов, в 4-х из которых принимают участие российские ученые.

В 2011 г. в рамках программы МПГК осуществлялась деятельность по 29 проектам. Россия принимала участие в 12 проектах.

Российские ученые являются руководителями и соруководителями следующих проектов:

Проект МПГК № 540 «Золотоносные гидротермальные флюиды орогенных месторождений» (2007-2011г.), соруководитель проекта д.г.-м.н. Прокофьев В.Ю., Институт геологии рудных месторождений, петрографии, минералогии и геохимии (ИГЕМ РАН);

Проект МПГК №587 «Явление, фации и время - загадка эдиакарского (вендского) периода», (2010-2014г.) руководитель проекта акад. Федонкин М.А., Геологический Институт (ГИН РАН);

Проект МПГК № 596 «Изменение климата и биологическое разнообразие в Среднем палеозое», соруководитель проекта д.г.-м.н. Изох Н.Г., Институт нефтегазовой геологии и геофизики (ИНГГ СО РАН), г. Новосибирск.

По проекту № 507 «Палеоклиматы мелового периода в Азии» проведены следующие работы:

- обобщены и скоррелированы материалы по 6-10-киллометровой аптмаастрихтской последовательности Восточно-Азиатской континентальной окраины Сахалина и Хоккайдо. На основе анализа новейших данных по структуре современной аккреционной призмы трога Нанкай реконструированы состав и строение Амуро-Горинского фрагмента позднемезозойской Восточно-Азиатской аккреционной системы;

- изучены меловые океанические отложения Амурского террейна, их возраст (по радиоляриям), а также стратиграфия и структура меловой аккреционной призмы Восточного Сахалина;

- исследованы геохимические особенности меловых базальтов, вскрытых глубокой скважиной на о. Монерон;

- построена серия палеогеографических схем для мезозоя (мела в том числе) Сихоте-Алинской складчатой системы.

Г.Л.Кириллова (Институт тектоники и геофизики ДВО РАН, г. Хабаровск) приняла участие в 6-ом Международном симпозиуме «Палеоклиматы мелового периода в Азии и их глобальная корреляция» (Проект МПГК №507), который состоялся в Пекине (КНР) 15-19 августа 2011 г. В симпозиуме приняли участие около 70 ученых из 9 стран: Китая, Японии, Кореи, Индии, Индонезии, России, США, Швейцарии, Франции. Г.Л. Кириллова сделала доклад на тему «Эволюция Приамурскою фрагмента меловой континентальной окраины: главные геологические события», который был посвящен стратиграфии, семитологической эволюции, геодинамике палеоклимату этого пограничного с Китаем региона.

Симпозиум завершился трехдневной тематической полевой экскурсией «Неморские меловые отложения, Джехольская биота в провинции Западный Ляонин, СВ Китай».

В работе по проекту №540 «Золотоносные гидротермальные флюиды орогенных месторождений» были обнаружены месторождения золота и серебра в центральной части п-ва Чукотка, изучены разные виды флюидных включений в кварцах и кальцитах золоторудных жил различных месторождений Сибири и Дальнего Востока.

На семинаре «Au-транспортирующие флюиды в земной коре», проходившем по проекту №540 в г. Антофагаста (Чили) 26-29 сентября 2011 г. во время 11-ой сессии SGA, российские ученые представили доклад «Аркачанское крупное месторождение золота. Западная Якутия: изучение РЗЕ, флюидных включений и стабильных изотопов» (авторы: Бортников еt а1.).

В 2011 г. работа проекта №559 «Архитектура земной коры и эволюция ландшафта» была продолжена в следующих направлениях:

- подготовка сессии, соответствующей наименованию проекта №559, размещенной в программе Генеральной Ассамблеи Международного союза геологов и геофизиков (Мельбурн, Австралия).

- продолжение работы по развитию веб-сайта проекта №559 (http://www.earthscrust.org/news.html);

- подготовка сессии по проекту, которая состоится во время 34-го Международного геологического конгресса в Брисбене (Австралия) в 2012 г.

В рамках проекта МПГК №572 «Восстановление морских экосистем после массового вымирания на рубеже перми и триаса: уроки для настоящего времени» получены новые данные по восстановлению фаун брахиопод и аммонидей после экологического кризиса конца перми на основе оригинальных свидетельств по российскому Дальнему Востоку и Средней Азии (Казахстан).

Получены первые данные по внутреннему строению раковины раннеоленекских аммоноидей семейства Melagaticeratidae (подотряд Ptychitina) на материале из Южного Приморья.

Описаны новые таксоны раннеоленекских мелагатицератид: новый род семейства Melagathiceratidae и два новых вида.

По проекту №580 «Магнитная восприимчивость, корреляция и палеосреда» проведены совместные полевые работы в Баррандиене (Республика Чехия) сотрудниками ИНГТ СО РАН, ИГМ СО РАН и Института геологии Академии наук Чешской Республики (г. Прага). Основное внимание было уделено изучению пражского и эмеского ярусов и уточнению межрегиональной корреляции ниждедевонских отложений Салаира (Россия), Баррандиена (Чехия) и западного Тянь-Шаня (Узбекистан). Участие в ежегодном совещании в рамках Международной геологической программы проекта 580 «Использование магнитной восприимчивости при исследовании палеозойских осадочных пород» 11-16 октября 2011 г., г. Прага (Чешская Республика).

По проекту №587 осенью 2011 г. были проведены полевые работы в Намибии с участием русских специалистов. Опубликован ряд статей.

В рамках проекта №596 «Изменения климата и биоразнообразие фауны в среднем палеозое (от раннего девона до позднего палеозоя):

- изучены брахионоды и конодонты из пограничных отложений франского и фаменского ярусов в разрезе верхнего девона Барзасского района северо-восточной окраины Кузнецкого бассейна.

- проведена ревизия диалогического строения и дана палеонтологическая характеристика разреза эмеского и нижней части эйфельского ярусов по саям Зинзильбан и Ходжа-Курган на территории Китабского государственного геологического заповедника (Республика Узбекистан).

Проведена международная конференция «Биостратиграфия, палеогеография и события в девоне и нижнем карбоне» в Новосибирске и Уфе 20 июля-10 августа 2011 г. В рамках конференции были проведены две полевые геологические экскурсии на западном склоне Южною Урала и на Салаире и в Кузнецком бассейне.

В продолжение работ по проекту МПГК №512 «Ледниковые периоды псопротерозоя», который в рамках МПГК закончился в 2010 г., были проведены следующие исследования:

- были реконструированы ледниковые щиты неопротерозойского Среднесибирского оледенения

- проведены полевые работы и собран каменный материал для изотопного изучения вендских ледниковых отложений на Байкало-Патомском нагорье и Среднем Урале.

В июле-августе 2011 г. в Новосибирске была проведена международная конференция «Неопротерозойские осадочные бассейны: стратиграфия, геодинамика, и нефтегазоносность», на которой были сделаны доклады «Вендское погружение юго-восточной части Сибирского кратона: геодинамика и образование бассейна» (Ю.К.Советов) и «Вендский опорный разрез центральной Сибири и ледниковые периоды протерозоя» (Н.М.Чумаков). После конференции Ю.К. Советов организовал и провел полевое рабочее совещание в Восточных Саянах.

В августе 2012 г. в Брисбене (Австралия) состоится 34-й Международный геологический конгресс, во время которого будут проводиться конференции по проектам МПГК с участием российских ученых.

Ученый секретарь Комитета

Айвазова Светлана Юрьевна

 

Проекты, в которых принимали российские ученые в 2011 году.

Проект 507 «Палеоклиматы мелового периода в Азии и их глобальная корреляция» (2006 – 2010 г., продлен на 2011);

Проект 526 «Риски, ресурсы и летопись Континентального шельфа» (2007 – 2011 г.);

Проект 540 «Золотоносные гидротермальные флюиды орогенных месторождений» (2007 – 2011 г);

Проект 559 «Архитектура земной коры и эволюция ландшафта» (2008 – 2012 г.);

Проект 572 «Восстановление морских экосистем после массового вымирания на рубеже перми и триаса: уроки для настоящего времени» (2008 – 2012 г.);

Проект 574 «Изгибы, изогнутые орогены и континентальная расслоенность» (2009 – 2013 г.);

Проект 580 «Магнитная восприимчивость, корреляция и палеосреда» (2009 – 2013 г.)

Проект 587 «Явление, фации и время - загадка эдиакарского (вендского) периода» (2010 – 2014 г.);

Проект 591 «Крутой перелом в раннем-среднем палеозое »(2011 – 2015 г.);

Проект 596 «Изменение климата и биоразнообразие в среднем палеозое» (2011 – 2015 г.)

Проект 597 «Объединение и раскол Пангеи: типичный пример суперконтинентального цикла» (2011 – 2015 г.)

Проект 598 «Изменение окружающей среды и устойчивость карстовых систем» (2011 – 2014 г.)