Education for sustainable development

Summary document of the round table entitled

“Activities of UNESCO Chairs on Education for Sustainable Development in Modern Society"

The round table titled “Activities of UNESCO Chairs on Education for Sustainable Development in Modern Society» was held on 18 September 2009 in coordination with the International Congress of UNESCO Chairs on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD).

The participants of the round table pointed out the UNESCO Chairs considerable contribution into molding education policy at regional and national levels for the achievement of the UN Decade ESD goals. During the assembly process of the International Congress of UNESCO Chairs on Education for Sustainable Development it was confirmed that education is as an effective tool of asserting human values and molding a spiritually grounded individual and solid moral climate in the situation of globalization, the growth of immigration and the worsening of social inclusion problems, and that it should hold an essential responsibility in developing a long-term program for sustainable development in a consumer-oriented society.

The researching into the effects of global, regional and national challenges in the development of education system demonstrates the growth of humanitarian mission of educational institutes and the role of the UNESCO Chairs network cooperation in implementing the ideas of sustainable development of society within the long-term outlook.

Among the programs of the UNESCO ESD Chairs are the tasks of interdisciplinary research, the interdependence of cultural and educational traditions, socio-economic development and the ecology of environment for sustainable development. Also included are the training for the new kind of specialists able to respond to the challenges of time and work in conditions of a crisis, and the development and implementation of humanitarian and informational technologies for network cooperation in pursuit of sustainable development.

The expansion of cooperation among the UNESCO ESD Chairs makes it possible to promote new mechanisms of network interaction in different countries, to develop and realize the joint long-term programs of activities and the communities of practice based on the cross-sectoral platforms, and to disseminate the positive experience of implementing innovative technologies in the sphere of education as the requirements for sustainable development.

The following decisions have been adopted after discussing the reports and statements of the roundtable participants:

-request UNESCO to designate the year 2012 as “Year of the Teacher”, and to plan events of celebration for it as such, based upon the experience of the UNESCO commemoration day, October 5th (Teacher’s Day), as well as the experience of commemoration the year 2010, Year of the Teacher, in Russia.

- actively pursue creative potential of scholars and professors working in network cooperation among the UNESCO ESD Chairs to realize the role of education as foundation of civil society, working to develop spiritual guidance in education policy, in order to achieve sustainable development on national as well as regional levels.

- conduct series of research, as assurance of continual interdisciplinary humanitarian expertise, into the role of educational value aspects in the formation of a spiritually-grounded and culturally-aware individual as a requirement for sustainable development;

- build and implement educational programs for the advanced training and retraining of qualified teachers on different levels and social workers concerned with inclusive education and tutor support in various segments of population, in a polycultural climate;

- stimulate various structures of civil society in developing programs aimed at support of the family on socio-pedagogical and psychological levels, as the foundation of socialization and formation of individual’s civil identity;

- develop partnership ties via joint and academic staff exchange programs and coordination of student’s mobility in order to strengthen the interaction and cooperation among UNESCO Chairs (ESD);

- support the conservation of national languages of smaller peoples, the development of cultural and educational traditions in globalization environment by the ways of the cooperation with government structures and the foundation of centers dealing with the humanitarian expertise of the role of education in the sustainable development, within the framework of UNESCO Chairs network cooperation;

- encourage the conducting of interdisciplinary research in universities and support academic staff in developing the methods of such research aimed at identifying qualitative methods for the available-for-all education;

- facilitate infiltration of ICT in the sphere of education for sustainable development by creating the conditions for improving and upgrading one’s own resources and establishing relations between UNESCO Chairs based on cross-sectoral platforms.

In order to fulfill these recommendations the participants of the conference hereby solicit UNESCO for the support of the UNESCO Chairs project aimed at identifying the mechanisms of network cooperation linked by regional principles, among the Chairs with goals of pursuit of sustainable development. This project was initiated by Herzen State Pedagogical University of Russia.

The participants expressed gratitude to the organizers of the international congress for the given opportunity to take part in the dialog of the UNESCO ESD Chairs. We consider the Congress in Khanty-Mansiysk as an important step of the international community towards the radical solving of the problems of sustainable development able to become a wide road to the future of our civilization.

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Образование в целях устойчивого развития

Итоговый документ заседания круглого стола

«Деятельность кафедр ЮНЕСКО в области образования для устойчивого развития современного общества»

18 сентября 2009 г. состоялось заседание круглого стола «Деятельность кафедр ЮНЕСКО в области образования для устойчивого развития современного общества» в рамках Международного конгресса кафедр ЮНЕСКО по устойчивому развитию.

Участники круглого стола отметили значительный вклад кафедр ЮНЕСКО в формирование образовательной политики на национальном и региональном уровнях для достижения целей Десятилетия ООН ОУР. Проведение Конгресса кафедр ЮНЕСКО по устойчивому развитию подтвердило, что в ситуации глобализации, экспансии идеологии общества потребления, усиления миграционных потоков и обострения проблем социальной инклюзии, именно образованию как действенному инструменту утверждения общечеловеческих ценностей, инструменту формирования духовно стойкой личности и здорового нравственного климата общества должна принадлежать одна из важнейших ролей в разработке долгосрочной программы устойчивого развития общества.

Изучение влияния глобальных, региональных и национальных вызовов на развитие системы образования свидетельствует о возрастании роли гуманитарной миссии институтов образования и сетевого сотрудничества кафедр ЮНЕСКО по вопросам образования в реализации концепций устойчивого развития общества на долгосрочную перспективу.

Кафедры ЮНЕСКО по вопросам образования в интересах устойчивого развития включают в свои программы задачи междисциплинарных исследований взаимосвязь культурно-образовательных традиций, социально-экономического развития и экологии окружающей среды в целях устойчивого развития, подготовку специалистов нового типа, отвечающих вызовам времени, для работы в условиях кризиса, разработку и внедрение гуманитарных и информационно-коммуникативных технологий развития сетевого сотрудничества в целях устойчивого развития.

Расширение сотрудничества кафедр ЮНЕСКО по вопросам образования для устойчивого развития позволяет обеспечить внедрение новых механизмов сетевого взаимодействия разных стран, создание и реализацию совместных долгосрочных программ действий и сообществ практики на базе межсекторальных платформ, распространение положительного опыта реализации инновационных технологий в сфере образования как условий устойчивого развития.

На основании обсуждения докладов и сообщений участниками круглого стола приняты следующие решения:

просить ЮНЕСКО

- инициировать объявление 2012 года «Годом учителя» и спланировать проведение мероприятий на основе опыта празднования 5 октября «Дня учителя» как памятной даты ЮНЕСКО, а также опыта проведения 2010 года как «Года учителя» России;

рекомендовать кафедрам ЮНЕСКО:

- активнее использовать творческий потенциал ученых, преподавателей вузов и педагогов-практиков в сетевом взаимодействии кафедр ЮНЕСКО по вопросам образования в интересах устойчивого развтия как института гражданского общества в разработке духовно-ценностных ориентиров образовательной политики для устойчивого развития на национальном и региональном уровнях. Провести комплекс исследований, обеспечивающих дальнейшую междисциплинарную гуманитарную экспертизу роли ценностных аспектов образования в формировании духовно стойкой и культурно развитой личности как условия устойчивого развития обществе;

- разработать и реализовать образовательные программы по переподготовке и повышению квалификации работников образования разных уровней и работников системы социальной помощи населению в области инклюзивного образования и тьюторского сопровождения различных категорий населения в условиях поликультурного общества;

- стимулировать деятельность различных субъектов гражданского общества по разработке программ, направленных на развитие социально-педагогической и психологической поддержки семьи как института социализации и формирования гражданской идентичности личности;

- развивать партнерские связи для укрепления взаимодействия и сотрудничества кафедр ЮНЕСКО в целях устойчивого развития через совместные программы, обмен профессорско-преподавательским составом и организацию студенческой мобильности;

- оказывать поддержку в сохранении национальных языков и культур малочисленных народов, в развитии культурно-образовательных традиций в условиях глобализации путем сотрудничества с государственными структурами и организации центров гуманитарной экспертизы роли образования в устойчивом развитии в рамках сетевого сотрудничества кафедр ЮНЕСКО;

- стимулировать проведение в университетах междисциплинарных исследований и оказывать помощь профессорско-преподавательскому составу университетов в развитии методов таких исследований в целях определения качественных, доступных для всех способов образования для устойчивого развития;

- содействовать внедрению информационно-коммуникативных технологий в сфере образования для устойчивого развития путем создания условий для совершенствования и модернизации собственных ресурсов и налаживания сотрудничества между кафедрами ЮНЕСКО на базе межсекторальных платформ.

Для реализации данных рекомендаций участники заседания ходатайствуют перед ЮНЕСКО о поддержке проекта кафедр ЮНЕСКО, инициированного Российским государственным педагогическим университетом им. А. И. Герцена, по определению механизмов сетевого взаимодействия кафедр, объединенных по региональному принципу, в интересах устойчивого развития.

Участники заседания выразили благодарность организаторам международного конгресса за предоставленную возможность принять участие в диалоге кафедр ЮНЕСКО по проблемам образования в интересах устойчивого развития. Мы рассматриваем конгресс в Ханты-Мансийске как важный шаг международного сообщества навстречу радикальному решению проблем устойчивого развития, способного стать широкой дорогой в будущее нашей цивилизации.