Environmental problems

Resulting document of the round table on

“Solutions to environmental problems for sustainable development; UNESCO Chairs’ activity”

18 September 2009, a round table meeting “Solutions to environmental problems for sustainable development; UNESCO Chairs’ activity” took place within the International UNESCO Chairs Congress on Sustainable Development

The meeting was attended by representatives of UNESCO Chairs for ecological aspects of nature management and environmental education from the countries that took part in the Congress of UNESCO Chairs on Sustainable Development.

Upon hearing and discussing reports and presentations on ecological aspects of nature management, public administration in the area of environmental protection and ecological safety, UNESCO Chairs’ activities in the ecologization of education, the participants of the round table noted that the preservation of natural systems and improvement of environment are inseparably related to social well-being of societies and sustainable development of regions. It is only possible to efficiently address ecological problems if this effort is based on an integrated approach within an entire economic system.

The human right to a sound environment is the main foundation for ecological education. Ecological education is needed to form of a truly humane attitude to nature, to determine the admissible measure of nature transformation and standards of behavior that would allow for the mankind to further exist and develop. In the contemporary context special attention should be paid to highlighting the relation between ecological education and public health and life quality, geographic and climatic conditions of regions. In this regard, the activity of UNESCO Chairs is especially important.

The round table participants emphasize:

- The growth in the consumption of natural resources leads to negative changes in the quality of environment. The key problems that determine the aggravation of ecological situation are: the shortcomings in the environmental policies; legal loopholes in the field of environment protection and sound natural resources management; lack of a technique for the integrated assessment of damage to the environment caused as a result of industrial development; application of inadequate technologies for environmental rehabilitation.

- The low level of available information on natural and man-induced dynamics of natural ecosystems against the background of the global climate change, particularly with regard to the role of marsh ecosystems in supporting the ecological equilibrium as a basis for sustainable development of one of the marshiest regions on the planet.

- Insufficient development of partnerships between research centers and UNESCO Chairs dealing with environmental dynamics and global climate change.

- The need to improve training and retraining of environmental policies personnel, to disseminate the experience of UNESCO and other international organizations dealing with ecology and nature management.

Based on the discussion of reports and presentations the round table participants have developed the following recommendations which we propose to include into the resolution of the Congress of UNESCO Chairs:

- Promote the development of scientifically grounded criteria of sustainable regional development in the conditions of growing man-caused impacts.

- Use international field stations to organize long-term biospheric functions of marsh ecosystems.

- Recommend to create a coordination center of the international network of UNESCO Chairs and research centers dealing with environmental dynamics and global climate change to be based at the UNESCO Chair of the Ugra State University.

- Facilitate the expansion and deepening of the activities of biosphere reserves and specially protected natural areas of various levels, research and monitoring of global changes with the use of state-of-the-art equipment and information technologies, step up the activity of biosphere reserves and specially protected natural areas as training centers providing ecological education for sustainable development.

- Support the development of educational programs in the field of ecology and environment protection at UNESCO Chairs, improvement of education quality and academic level of teachers, young scientists and students by creating conditions for conducting field studies and involving them into research projects; provide international internships and opportunities to study abroad.

- It is recommended that UNESCO Chairs promote qualification improvement in the field of environment protection and ecological safety for decision makers in charge of economic or other activities that have, or may have, a negative impact on the environment (regional and local authorities, lawmakers, CEOs of industrial enterprises and commercial entities).

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Экологические проблемы

Итоговый документ заседания круглого стола по теме

«Решение экологических проблем в интересах устойчивого развития и деятельность кафедр ЮНЕСКО»

18 сентября 2009 г. в рамках Международного конгресса кафедр ЮНЕСКО по устойчивому развитию состоялось заседание круглого стола «Решение экологических проблем в интересах устойчивого развития и деятельность кафедр ЮНЕСКО»

В работе круглого стола приняли участие представители кафедр ЮНЕСКО по вопросам экологических аспектов природопользования и экологического образования стран – участниц Конгресса кафедр ЮНЕСКО по устойчивому развитию.

Заслушав и обсудив доклады и выступления по вопросам экологических аспектов природопользования, государственного управления в области охраны окружающей среды и обеспечения экологической безопасности, деятельности кафедр ЮНЕСКО в экологизации образования участники круглого стола отметили, что сохранение природных систем и улучшение качества окружающей среды неразрывно связано с социальным благополучием общества и устойчивым развитием регионов. Эффективное решение экологических проблем возможно только на основе комплексного подхода в рамках всей экономической системы.

Главным основанием экологического образования является право человека на благоприятную среду жизни. Экологическое образование необходимо для формирования подлинного человеческого отношения к природе, определения допустимой меры преобразования природы и нормативов поведения, при которых возможно дальнейшее существование и развитие человека. В современных условиях особое внимание следует уделить раскрытию связей экологического образования с состоянием здоровья населения, качеством жизни людей, а также географическими и климатическими условиями регионов. В этой связи для развития экологического образования особую ценность приобретает деятельность кафедр ЮНЕСКО.

Участники круглого стола подчеркивают:

- Рост объемов потребления природных ресурсов приводит к негативным изменениям качества окружающей среды. Основными проблемами, определяющими ухудшение экологической ситуации, являются несовершенство экологической политики, нормативно-правовые пробелы в области охраны окружающей среды и рационального использования природных ресурсов, отсутствие методологии комплексной оценки ущерба, наносимого компонентам окружающей среды при промышленном освоении, применение несовершенных технологий реабилитации окружающей среды.

- Малую изученность естественной и антропогенной динамики природных экосистем на фоне глобального изменения климата и, в частности, роли болотных экосистем в поддержании экологического равновесия, как основы для устойчивого развития одного из наиболее заболоченных регионов земного шара.

- Недостаточное развитие партнерских связей между научными центрами и кафедрами ЮНЕСКО, занимающихся проблемами динамики окружающей среды и глобального изменения климата.

- Необходимость совершенствования подготовки и переподготовки кадров по вопросам экологической политики, распространения опыта ЮНЕСКО и других международных организаций в области экологии и природопользования.

На основании обсуждения докладов и сообщений участниками круглого стола с приняты следующие рекомендации, которые мы просим включить в решение Конгресса кафедр ЮНЕСКО:

- Содействовать разработке научно обоснованных критериев устойчивого развития регионов в условиях нарастающих техногенных воздействий.

- Организовать проведение долгосрочных комплексных биосферных функций болотных экосистем с использованием международных полевых стационаров.

- Рекомендовать создание на базе кафедры ЮНЕСКО Югорского государственного университета координационного центра международной сети кафедр ЮНЕСКО и научно-исследовательских центров, занимающихся проблемами динамики окружающей среды и глобального изменения климата.

- Содействовать расширению и углублению деятельности биосферных резерватов и ООПТ различного уровня научных исследований и мониторинга глобальных изменений с применением современного оборудования и информационных технологий, активизации деятельности биосферных резерватов и ООПТ в качестве учебных центров по обеспечению экологического образования в целях устойчивого развития.

- Оказывать поддержку развитию образовательных программ в области экологии и охраны окружающей среды на базе кафедр ЮНЕСКО, повышению качества образовательного процесса, а также научного уровня преподавателей, молодых ученых и студентов путем создания условий для проведения полевых исследований и вовлечения их в научные проекты; обеспечения стажировок и обучения за рубежом.

- Кафедрам ЮНЕСКО оказывать помощь в повышении квалификации в области охраны окружающей среды и экологической безопасности руководящих лиц (руководителей региональных и местных органов власти, депутатов, руководителей промышленных предприятий и коммерческих структур), ответственных за принятие решений при осуществлении хозяйственной и иной деятельности, которая оказывает или может оказать негативное воздействие на окружающую среду.