NAME OF BIOSPHERE RESERVE - Ugra

Ecological characteristics: The Reserve consists of 3 main and 3 clustered areas and encompasses picturesque valleys of the rivers Ugra and Zizdra and of the left-bank part of the Oka River. More than 65% of the area is covered by forests, rivers, lakes; within the boundaries of the Reserve there are 23 natural monuments, four key ornithological areas. Among the rich variety of flora and fauna five vascular plants and 30 species of animals are included into the Red Data Book of Russia. The Reserve’s territory is characterized by the landscape diversity. The Ugra area has the image of typical moraine valley with hilly landscape, numerous moors and springs of underground waters. Mixed conifers and broad-leaved forests are abundant everywhere on the territory. Zizdra valley is situated in the sub zone of deciduous forests and includes landscapes of moraine and erosive valleys. Old recurring indigenous forests on the right bank of the river are one of the preserved areas of the defensive intersection line of Moscow state in the 16-18th centuries. The territory is rich in objects of historical and cultural heritage including such famous religious centers as Saint Vvedenskaya Optina Monastery.

Declaration date: 2002

Surface area: Total 153832 ha

Core area: 9806 ha

Buffer zone: 22826 ha

Transition areas: 121200 ha

Administrative division: Kaluzhskaya oblast

Human activities: Destruction of proprietary and collective agriculture. Unorganized mass visits of the Reserve during days off. Low living standards of local population trying to make business rapidly with use of natural resources.

Protection classifications: National Park

Contact information: Ugra Biosphere Reserve, Prigorodnoye Lesnichestvo, Kaluga City, 248007 Russia. Tel.: + 7 484 2 725791, fax: + 7 484 2 725791, E-mail: parkugra@kaluga.ru, web-site: http://parkugra.forest.ru

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

НАЗВАНИЕ БИОСФЕРНОГО ЗАПОВЕДНИКА - УГРА

Экологические характеристики: Заповедник состоит из 3 основных и 3 кластерных районов и включает в себя живописные долины рек Югра и Жиздра и левобережной части реки Ока. Более 65% площади покрыто лесами, реками, озерами; в пределах заповедника находятся 23 памятника природы, четыре ключевых орнитологических района. Из богатого разнообразия флоры и фауны в Красную книгу России включены пять сосудистых растений и 30 видов животных. Территория заповедника характеризуется ландшафтным разнообразием. Территория Югры имеет образ типичной моренной долины с холмистым пейзажем, многочисленными болотами, источниками подземных вод. На территории широко распространены смешанные хвойные и широколиственные леса. Долина Жиздры находится в подзоне лиственных лесов и включает ландшафты моренных и эрозионных долин. Старые повторяющиеся коренные леса на правом берегу реки - один из сохранившихся районов оборонительной линии пересечения Московского государства 16-18 века. Территория богата объектами исторического и культурного наследия, включая такие известные религиозные центры, как Свято-Введенская Оптина Пустынь.

Административное деление: Калужская область

Человеческая деятельность: Уничтожение частного и коллективного сельского хозяйства. Неорганизованное массовое посещение заповедника в выходные дни. Низкий уровень жизни местного населения, пытающегося вести быстрый бизнес с использованием природных ресурсов.

Дата регистрации: 2002 г.

Общая площадь поверхности: 153832 га Заповедное ядро: 9806 га

Буферная зона: 22826 га

Переходные зоны: 121200 га

Классификация: Национальный парк

Контактная информация: Биосферный заповедник Угра, Пригородное Лесничество, г. Калуга, 248007 Россия. Тел.: + 7 484 2 725791, факс: + 7 484 2 725791, E-mail: parkugra@kaluga.ru, web-site: http://parkugra.forest.ru