NAME OF BIOSPHERE RESERVE - Ubsunorskaya Kotlovina

Ecological characteristics: The Reserve is almost the only place in the World where all natural zones of the Northern hemisphere meet at the relatively small area. The central part of the Reserve (1000 m above sea level) is occupied by sandy and loamy deserts, which closer to slopes are turned into desert-like and dry steppes, after transmitting to forest-steppe and at the 1500-2300 m altitude turned up to the forests. On the higher altitudinal zone the mountain tundra is dominant, and in the snow accumulating and underground water discharging areas the meadows are dominant. There are snow drifts and glaciers at the tops of mountains. The Reserve’s territory is characterized by the unique composition of fauna including 83 species of mammals. The following species are recorded in the IUCN Red List - red wolf, snow leopard, argali (wild sheep), Mongolian gazelle. There are 351 species of birds, 12 of them are recorded in the IUCN Red List (Cygnopsis cygnoides, Oxyura leucocephala, Aquila heliaca, Haliaeetus albicilla, Aegypius monachus, Falco naumanni, Grus monacha, Otis tarda dybowskii). There are 1075 species of vascular plants, including 40 species known to be rare (Oxytropis tschujae, Rheum altaicum, Stipa pennata, Allium pumilum, Orchis militaris).

Declaration date: 1997

Surface area: Total 284300 ha

Core area: 55800 ha

Buffer zone: 228500 ha

Transition areas: Undefined area around each unit of cluster

Administrative division: Republic of Tuva

Human activities: Illegal hunting and fishing; collecting nuts, berries, medical herbs, fallen horns of deer; forest and steppe fires; littering lake banks and water bodies by tourists; impact of separating parts of different rockets launched at Baikonur cosmodrome.

Protection classifications: State nature reserve (Zapovednik)

Contact information: Ubsunorskaya Kotlovina Biosphere Reserve, 144 A, Kalinina St., Kyzyl City, Republic of Tuva, 667010 Russia. Tel.: + 7 394 22 53770, fax: + 7 394 22 53818, E-mail: ubsunur@tuva.ru, web-site: www.ubsunur.ru

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

НАЗВАНИЕ БИОСФЕРНОГО ЗАПОВЕДНИКА - Убсунурская котловина

Экологические характеристики: Заповедник является практически единственным местом в мире, где все природные зоны Северного полушария встречаются на относительно небольшой площади. Центральную часть заповедника (1000 м над уровнем моря) занимают песчаные и суглинистые пустыни, которые ближе к склонам превращаются в пустынные и сухие степи, переходят затем в лесостепь, и на высоте 1500-2300 м над уровнем моря превращаются в лес. В высотной зоне доминирует горная тундра, а на территориях снегонакопления и выпуска подземных вод доминируют луга. На вершинах гор лежат снежные заносы и ледники. Территория заповедника характеризуется уникальным составом фауны, включающей 83 вида млекопитающих. В Красный список МСОП занесены следующие виды - красный волк, снежный барс, архар (дикая овца), монгольская газель. Здесь насчитывается 351 вид птиц, 12 из которых занесены в Красный список МСОП - сухонос (Cygnopsis cygnoides), белолицая савка (Oxyura leucocephala), орел-могильник (Aquila heliaca), орлан-белохвост (Haliaeetus albicilla), черный, или серый гриф (Aegypius monachus), степная пустельга (Falco naumanni), черный журавль (Grus monacha), дрофа (восточно-сибирский подвид) (Otis tarda dybowskii). Здесь растет 1075 видов сосудистых растений, в том числе 40 известных редких видов - остролодочник тодомоширский (Oxytropis tschujae), ревень алтайский (Rheum altaicum), ковыль перистый (Stipa pennata), лук карликовый (Allium pumilum), ятрышник шлемоносный (Orchis militaris).

Дата регистрации: 1997 г.

Административное деление: Республика Тува

Классификация: государственный природный заповедник (заповедник)

Человеческая деятельность: Незаконная охота и рыбная ловля; сбор орехов, ягод, лекарственных растений, опавших рогов оленя; лесные и степные пожары; засорение берегов озер и водных объектов туристами; воздействие отделившихся частей различных ракет, запущенных на космодроме Байконур.

Контактная информация: Биосферный заповедник Убсунурская котловина, 144 A, ул. Калинина, г. Кызыл, Республика Тува, 667010 Россия. Тел: + 7 394 22 53770, fax: + 7 394 22 53818, E-mail: ubsunur@tuva.ru, web-site: www.ubsunur.ru