NAME OF BIOSPHERE RESERVE - KatunskIy

Ecological characteristics: The Reserve is located in the highlands of the Altai Mountains at altitudes from 745 to 4506 m a.s.l. near the borders of Russia and Kazakhstan. The highest peak of Siberia – Mt. Belukha, the sacred site for local people and followers of N. Roerikh – is situated in the transition zone. The Reserve occupies a transboundary position in more than merely political sense: it is located at the junction of different floristic subkingdoms, resulting in great diversity of species and plant communities. Land cover is represented by the system of altitudinal belts, including steppes, mountain woods, sublapine and alpine meadows and shrubs, mountain tundra, nival complexes and glaciers of the most significant center of modern glaciation in Siberia. Habitats of endangered snow leopard (Uncia uncia) are included into the core and transition zones of the reserve. Nine plant species are included into the Red Data Book of Russia (Rheum altaicum, Paeonia hybrida, Stipa pennata, Rhodiola rosea etc.). 20 endagered birds are under protection in the core zone of the reserve, including Pandion haliaetus and Aegypius monachus from IUCN Red Lists. The Reserve is designated as a cluster of “The Golden Mountains of Altai” World Heritage Site.

Declaration date: 2000

Surface area: Total 695262 ha

Core area: 151637 ha

Buffer zone: 57515 ha

Transition areas: ~500000 ha

Administrative division: Altai Republic

Protection classifications: State nature reserve (Zapovednik)

Human activities: In general, natural ecosystems of the reserve are weakly affected by human activities. The major types of land use are active recreation, grazing, and traditional land use practices - unique maral (Red deer) farms, apiculture, collection of medicinal herbs and other non-timber products, hunting and fishing. Main ecological challenges are posed by excessive collection of non-timber products and non-regulated recreation

Contact information: Katunskiy Biosphere Reserve, 1, Zapovednaya St., Settlement Ust-Koksa, Altai Republic, 649490 Russia. Tel./fax: + 7 388 48 22946, Email: katunskiy@mail.ru, web-site: http://katunsky.h1.ru

UNESCO Press
Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Москве
Проект программы и бюджета ЮНЕСКО на 2012-2013 гг.
Вестник ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО60 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

НАЗВАНИЕ БИОСФЕРНОГО ЗАПОВЕДНИКА - Катунский

Экологические характеристики: Заповедник расположен в горах Алтая на высоте от 745 до 4506 м над уровнем моря вблизи границ России и Казахстана. Самая высокая вершина Сибири - гора Белуха, священное место для местного населения и последователей Н. Рериха - расположена в переходной зоне. Заповедник занимает трансграничное положение не только в политическом смысле: он расположен на стыке различных флористических филюмов, приводящих к большому разнообразию видов и растительных сообществ. Почвенно-растительный покров представлен системой высотных поясов, включая степи, горные леса, субальпийские и альпийские луга и кустарники, горные тундры, снежные комплексы и ледники самого значительного центра современного оледенения в Сибири. Места обитания находящегося под угрозой исчезновения снежного барса (Uncia uncia) включены в заповедное ядро и переходные зоны заповедника. Девять видов растений включены в Красную книгу России - ревень алтайский (Rheum altaicum), пиoн степной (Paeonia hybrida), ковыль перистый (Stipa pennata), родиола розовая (Rhodiola rosea) и т.д. 20 видов находящихся под угрозой птиц находятся под охраной в основной зоне заповедника, в том числе скопа (Pandion haliaetus) и черный гриф (Aegypius monachus) из Красных списков МСОП. Заповедник называется кластером объекта Всемирного наследия «Золотые горы Алтая».

Дата регистрации: 2000 г.

Общая площадь поверхности: 695262 га

Заповедное ядро: 151637 га

Буферная зона: 57515 га

Переходные зоны: ~500000 га

Административное деление: Республика Алтай

Человеческая деятельность: В целом, деятельность человека оказывает незначительное влияние на природные экосистемы заповедника. Основными типами землепользования является рекреация, выпас скота, а также традиционные методы землепользования – уникальные фермерские хозяйства по разведению марала (благородный олень), пчеловодство, сбор лекарственных трав и других побочной продукции леса, охота и рыбная ловля. Основные экологические проблемы вызваны чрезмерным сбором побочной продукции леса и нерегулируемой рекреацией

Классификация: государственный природный заповедник (заповедник)

Контактная информация: Катунский биосферный заповедник, 1, ул. Заповедная, пос. Усть-Кокса, Республика Алтай, 649490 Россия. Тел./факс: + 7 388 48 22946, Email: katunskiy@mail.ru, web-site: http://katunsky.h1.ru