NAME OF BIOSPHERE RESERVE - Barguzinskiy

Ecological characteristics: The Reserve is located in northeast of Baikal Lake coast on western slopes of Barguzin mountain ridge. It includes natural complexes - water areas, mountain taiga, alpine meadows and rocks, geothermal spring. The fauna and flora are typically boreal with including mountain steppe and arctic-alpine elements. 10 plant, one mammal, 19 birds, one fish species preserved here were listed in Red Data Book of Russia. The territory of Reserve was never used except of hunting. The initial purpose of the Reserve’s creating was preservation and restoration of sable’s numbers as disappearing species. The successful solving this problem was important contribution to conservation of the biodiversity. The major event in development of scientific researches in the Reserve was organization of monitoring. Since 1938 observations for climate, vegetation, dynamics of mammals, birds, insects within all zones were conducted. In 1987 the grounds of biosphere testing area have been included into the Reserve’s territory, the first such area in Russia. Now for active participation in the decision-making on environmental and ecological problems of region the Reserve prepares the draft of Regulations for its zone of cooperation. The Reserve currently is known not only for nature protecting, but became a multifunctional institution with strong scientific and environmental education activities. The Reserve belongs to the World Natural Heritage List.

Declaration date: 1986

Surface area: Total 358600 ha

Core area: 263176 ha

Buffer zones: 95400 ha

Transition areas: not defined

Administrative division: Republic of Buryatiya

Human activities: Tourism, recreation, fishing, gathering berries, nuts, mushrooms. The extraction of minerals in bordering northeast areas: complex ore in “Holodnaya”, quartz in “Cholbon” mines. Not regulated recreation. The fishing industry in Baikal Lake.

Protection classifications: State nature reserve (Zapovednik)

Contact information: Barguzinskiy Biosphere Reserve, 61, Kozlova st., Nizhneangarsk town, Republic of Buryatiya, 671710 Russia. Теl./fax: + 7 30130 47992, E-mаil: barguzin_zap@mail.ru, a_ananin@mail.ru

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

НАЗВАНИЕ БИОСФЕРНОГО ЗАПОВЕДНИКА - Баргузинский

Экологические характеристики: Заповедник расположен к северо-востоку от побережья озера Байкал на западных склонах Баргузинского хребта. Он включает природные комплексы - акватории, горную тайгу, высокогорные луга и скалы, геотермальные источники. Фауна и флора типично бореального типа с горной степью и арктоальпийскими элементами. Сохранившиеся здесь 10 видов растений, один вид млекопитающих, 19 видов птиц, один вид рыбы включены в Красную книгу России. Территория заповедника никогда не использовались, за исключением охоты. Первоначальной целью создания заповедника было сохранение и восстановление количества соболей как исчезающего вида. Успешное выполнение этой задачи было важным вкладом в сохранение биоразнообразия. Значительным событием в развитии научных исследований в заповеднике была организация мониторинга. С 1938 года во всех зонах проводились наблюдения за климатом, растительностью, динамикой млекопитающих, птиц, насекомых. В 1987 году впервые в России земли биосферного полигона были включены в территорию заповедника. Сейчас для активизации участия в процессе принятия решений по проблемам окружающей среды и экологическим проблемам региона в заповеднике готовится проект нормативных актов о зоне сотрудничества. В настоящее время заповедник известен не только своим участием в защите природы, но и стал многофункциональным учреждением с мощной научной и экологической просветительской деятельностью. Заповедник включен в список Всемирного природного наследия.

Дата регистрации: 1986 г.

Общая площадь поверхности: 358600 га

Заповедное ядро: 263176 га

Буферные зоны: 95400 га

Переходные зоны: не определены

Административное деление: Республика Бурятия

Человеческая деятельность: Туризм, отдых, рыбалка, сбор ягод, орехов, грибов. Добыча полезных ископаемых в приграничных северо-восточных областях: полиметаллической руды на месторождении «Холодная» и кварца на руднике Чолбон. Неорганизованный отдых. Рыбная промышленность на озере Байкал

Классификация: государственный природный заповедник (заповедник)

Контактная информация: Баргузинский биосферный заповедник, 61, ул. Козлова, г. Нижнеангарск, Республика Бурятия, 671710 Россия. Тел./факс: + 7 30130 47992, E-mаil: barguzin_zap@mail.ru, a_ananin@mail.ru