UNESCO Press
Russia & UNESCO
Permanent Delegation of the Russian Federation to UNESCO
UNESCO Programme and budget, 2014-2017
UNESCO Medium-Term Strategy, 2014-2021
Herald of UNESCO
Herald of UNESCO60 years with UNESCO
 

Ensemble of the Novodevichy Convent

Cultural criteria: i, iv, vi
Year of inclusion in the List of World Heritage: 2004

The Novo-Dyevitchi Convent was founded in 1524 by Grand Prince Vasily III in honor of the greatest orthodox object of worship - the Smolensk icon of the Mother of God, and in commemoration of Smolensk liberation from Poles and its reannexation to Russian lands. During several centuries the convent was closely related to the main events and personages of political, religious and cultural life of the Russian state: Ivan the Terrible, Boris Godunov (who in 1598 was called to the tsardom), Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich. At the end of the XVII century the convent was involved in a sharp political struggle for power between Peter the First and his sister Sophia. As a result Sophia was forcibly cloistered and taken the veil in the convent, where she died in 1704. During the Patriotic War of 1812, when the French occupied Moscow, the convent was used for warehouses location, and there even existed a threat of its entire structures explosion.

In the XVI-XVII centuries the convent was one of the most respected in Russia, a place of taking the veil by representatives of tsar's dynasty, as well as the richest boyar families and the nobilities of those times, and women then gained at that the right to be buried on the territory of the convent. The necropolis that emerged here in the XVI century, henceforth considerably widened, and here one began to also bury outstanding statesmen, war heroes, scientists, writers etc. Here are family burial vaults of the Volkonsky and Prokhorov, graves of the historian S.M.Soloviev, the hero of the War of 1812 D.V.Davydov, writer I.I.Lazhechnikov etc. In the early ХХ century behind the south wall of the convent a new cemetery emerged that subsequently became an everlasting rest for many representatives of the most elite part of the Russian society. The Novo-Dyevitchi Convent Necropolis is one of the most ancient and considerable historical necropolises of Russia.

The architectural ensemble of the Novo-Dyevitchi Convent that began to form in the first half of the XVI century was mainly completed by the end of the XVII century. It is in a good state of preservation now. The ensemble is notable for its integrity and authenticity: it was neither reconstructed nor rebuilt, there are no reconstituted objects here, one does only restoration and preservation works here. Furthermore, the ensemble is of exceptional architectural significance: it has been always an important dominating structure of the whole southwest region of Moscow.

The center of the whole composition is the five-domed Smolensk cathedral, the very first stone structure in the convent (1524-1525), built of brick with details of white stone. In the church’s interior a unique wall painting remained made by Moscow masters at the end of the XVI century; frescoes’ motif is the acathistus glorifying the Most Holy Mother of God. The painting’s style mainly relates to the classical Old Russian style – with its strict canonicity of images, figures hierarchy and compositions laconism, alongside with that, this style turned out to be quite decorative. The ancient iconostasis remained completely intact (1683-1686) - five tier, wooden, with gold-filled fretwork, a striking example of this type structures.

Aside from the main cathedral, all basic structures of the convent ensemble are stuck to one style throughout named “Moscow baroque”. This style is distinguished by plenty of decorative details of white stone on facades of brick buildings, as well as by symmetry and gracefulness of structures in whole. It is noteworthy that the Novo-Dyevitchi Convent is the only example of an ensemble realization of this wonderful architectural direction.

The five tier convent belfry raised in 1683-1690 is built of brick, has various white stone details, and is distinguished by very picturesque aspect. Tiers covered by arches, are connected between each other by through-the-wall stairs, and the first tier is divided at that into two floors, and the fifth one – into three floors, connected between each other by wooden stairs. Bells of the XVII century remained intact. Thanks to its considerable height (73 m), exactly defined location, beauty and proportionality, the belfry has always played the role of main high-altitude dominating structure of this region of Moscow.

Other important elements of the single convent historical-architectural ensemble are the Dormitory church with a refectory, the Amvrosievskaya Church, Treasury, Cellar, Singing, Mariinsky, and Lopukhinsky chambers, Irina Godunova’s chambers and those of Yevdokiya Miloslavskaya; these are also a hospital, the Streltsy guardrooms, and a school. In the interior of these convent structures one can see brick stoves, coated by polychromatic Dutchware, vaulted ceilings and columns, ornaments and arched niches, shaped cornices and panelled doors etc.

The situated in the southwest outskirts of Moscow’s historic center, close to a strategic point (fording site of the Moskva River), the Novo-Dyevitchi Convent was a fortress at the same time: it was part of the system of the convent’s defensive “ring”, formed around the city. The fortress walls with 12 towers (of which the four corner ones – St Nicholas, Nadprudnaya, Setunskaya and Chebotarnaya Towers– are round, the others are square) were raised in the 1680s. In plan the convent’s enclosure resembles a rectangle in form (in area of 5.3 ha), of which one of the sides is directed to a pond. Walls and towers are equipped by loopholes and inner galleries, in the center of the south and north sides there is a three-span entrance gate with gateway churches. As the whole convent ensemble, walls and towers are made in “Moscow baroque” and built of brick with a picturesque white stone finishing, and towers are decorated at that by familiar laced “crowns”.

The convent became extinct in 1922, when a museum was created here. In 1934 this museum was transferred under the authority of the State Historical Museum as a separate branch. Now quite a number of expositions are functioning here, thematic excursions are made. Modern guard statuses of the convent ensemble are the following: particularly valuable site of cultural heritage of peoples of the Russian Federation (since 1991) and federal monument of architecture (since 1995). In museums there are valuable collections of Old-Russian painting and icons, books (particularly hand-written ones), tissues, church utensils and other items of applied art.

In August 2004 the 480th anniversary of the convent was celebrated, as well as the 10th anniversary of the monastic life resumption in it.

UNESCO Press
Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Программа и бюджет ЮНЕСКО на 2014-17 гг.
Среднесрочная стратегия ЮНЕСКО на 2014-2021 гг.
Вестник ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО60 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Ансамбль Новодевичьего монастыря (Москва)

Культурные критерии: i, iv, vi
Год включения в Список всемирного наследия: 2004

Новодевичий монастырь был основан в 1524 г. князем Василием III в честь величайшей православной святыни - Смоленской иконы Божией Матери, и в ознаменование освобождения Смоленска от поляков и возврата его в состав русских земель. На протяжении нескольких веков монастырь был теснейшим образом связан с основными событиями и персонажами политической, религиозной и культурной жизни государства российского: Иваном Грозным, Борисом Годуновым (который в 1598 г. был призван в монастыре на царство), царем Алексеем Михайловичем. В конце XVII в. монастырь был вовлечен в острую политическую борьбу за власть между Петром I и его сестрой Софьей. В результате Софья была насильственно отправлена в монастырь и пострижена в монахини, где и умерла в 1704 г. В Отечественную войну 1812 г., когда французы заняли Москву, монастырь был использован для размещения складов, и даже существовала угроза взрыва всех его построек.

В XVI-XVII вв. монастырь был одной из самых почитаемых на Руси женских обителей, местом пострижения в монахини представительниц царской династии, а также богатейших боярских и дворянских родов того времени, причем эти женщины получали затем право быть похороненными на территории монастыря. Некрополь, возникший здесь в XVI в., в последующем существенно расширился, и здесь стали погребать также выдающихся государственных деятелей, героев войн, ученых, писателей и т.д. Здесь находятся семейные усыпальницы Волконских и Прохоровых, могилы историка С.М. Соловьева, героя войны 1812 г. Д.В. Давыдова, писателя И.И.Лажечникова и др. В начале ХХ в. за южной стеной монастыря возникло новое кладбище, ставшее впоследствии местом упокоения для многих представителей самой элитной части российского общества. Некрополь Новодевичьего монастыря – один из самых древних и значительных исторических некрополей России.

Архитектурный ансамбль Новодевичьего монастыря, который начал складываться в первой половине XVI в., был в основном завершен к концу XVII в. До наших дней он дошел практически в неизменном виде. Ансамбль отличает целостность и подлинность: он не подвергался перестройкам и реконструктивному вмешательству, здесь отсутствуют воссозданные объекты, ведутся только реставрационные и консервационные работы. Кроме того, ансамбль обладает исключительной градостроительной значимостью: он являлся и поныне является важной градостроительной доминантой всего юго-западного района Москвы.

Центр всей композиции – пятиглавый Смоленский собор, самая первая каменная постройка в монастыре (1524-1525 гг.), сложенная из кирпича с деталями из белого камня. В интерьере храма сохранилась уникальная настенная роспись, выполненная московскими мастерами в конце XVI в.; основная тема фресок – текст Акафиста, воспевающего Пресвятую Богородицу. Стиль росписи тяготеет к классическому древнерусскому стилю - с его строгой каноничностью образов, иерархичностью фигур и лаконизмом композиций, вместе с тем, этот стиль оказался вполне декоративным. Полностью сохранился древний иконостас (1683-1686 гг.) - пятиярусный, деревянный, с позолоченной резьбой, ярчайший образец сооружений подобного типа.

За исключением главного собора, все основные сооружения монастырского ансамбля выдержаны в едином стиле, получившем название «московское барокко». Этот стиль отличает обилие декоративных деталей из белого камня на фасадах кирпичных зданий, а также симметричность и грациозность построек в целом. Примечательно, что Новодевичий монастырь является единственным примером ансамблевого воплощения этого замечательного архитектурного направления.

Пятиярусная монастырская колокольня, воздвигнутая в 1683-1690 гг., сложена из кирпича, имеет разнообразные белокаменные детали, и выделяется крайне живописным обликом. Яруса, перекрытые сводами, соединены между собой внутристенными лестницами, при этом первый ярус внутри разделен на два этажа, а пятый – на три этажа, связанных между собой деревянными лестницами. Сохранились колокола XVII в. Благодаря своей значительной высоте (73 м), точно найденному местоположению, красоте и пропорциональности, колокольня всегда играла роль главной высотной доминанты этого района Москвы.

Другие важные элементы единого монастырского историко-архитектурного ансамбля – Успенская церковь с трапезной палатой, Амвросиевская церковь, Казначейские, Погребовые, Певческие, Мариинские, Лопухинские палаты, палаты Ирины Годуновой и палаты Евдокии Милославской; это также больница, стрелецкие караульни, училище. В интерьерах этих монастырских построек можно увидеть кирпичные печи, облицованные полихромными изразцами, сводчатые потолки и колонны, орнаменты и арочные ниши, профилированные карнизы и филенчатые двери и т.д.

Находящийся на юго-западной окраине исторического центра Москвы, у стратегически важной точки (брод через Москва-реку), Новодевичий монастырь являлся одновременно и крепостью: он входил в систему оборонительного монастырского «кольца», сформированного вокруг города. Крепостные стены с 12 башнями (из которых четыре угловых – Никольская, Напрудная, Сетуньская и Чеботарная – являются круглыми, остальные – квадратными) были воздвигнуты в 1680-е гг. В плане монастырская ограда напоминает по форме прямоугольник (площадью 5,3 га), одна из сторон которого обращена к пруду. Стены и башни оснащены бойницами и внутренними галереями, в центре южной и северной сторон – трехпролетные въездные ворота с надвратными храмами. Как и весь монастырский ансамбль, стены и башни выполнены в стиле «московского барокко» и сложены из кирпича с живописной белокаменной отделкой, при этом башни украшены легко узнаваемыми ажурными «коронами».

Монастырь прекратил свое существование в 1922 г., когда здесь был создан музей. В 1934 г. этот музей был передан в ведение Государственного Исторического музея в качестве отдельного филиала. Ныне здесь функционирует целый ряд экспозиций, проводятся тематические экскурсии. Современные охранные статусы монастырского ансамбля: особо ценный объект культурного наследия народов Российской Федерации (с 1991 г.) и памятник архитектуры федерального значения (с 1995 г.). В музеях собраны ценнейшие коллекции древнерусской живописи и икон, книг (в т. ч. рукописных), тканей, церковной утвари и иных предметов декоративно-прикладного искусства.

В августе 2004 г. было торжественно отмечено 480-летие монастыря, а также 10-летие возобновления в нем монашеской жизни.


Этот объект на вебсайте Центра всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО whc.unesco.org/en/list/1097